Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Allow for Silence February 13, 2015

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:24 pm
Tags: , ,
By Aleksandra Boguslawska

By Aleksandra Boguslawska

This morning I read Jude 1:2 NLT: May God give you more and more mercy, peace and love.

I looked up the Message paraphrase just to get another perspective: Relax, everything’s going to be all right; rest, everything’s coming together; open your hearts, love is on the way.

I looked up the meaning of the words peace, love and mercy. Even though I know what they are I wanted to see what the dictionary said. Needless to say, it really didn’t grasp the Jesus-meaning of these words.

But one thing that did grab me was one definition of peace: to be or become silent.

Jesus stirred me up with that and I realized I haven’t allowed for silence in a long time. I haven’t just sat in silence and felt the weight of God’s presence. I am praying, I am reading the Word, but I’m not being silent.

I am encouraging each of us to do just that. Allow for silence today. Find a few minutes to close your eyes and remove the distractions of this world and allow God’s presence to wrap around you. Distraction is one of the enemy’s favorite tools. Those of us that are in Christ know we have been rescued but the enemy can still try to distract us and keep us for furthering God’s kingdom and we live in a world full of many options for distraction.

So turn off the computer, iPad, cell phone…whatever, and be or become silent-peace 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Allow for Silence”

  1. faithdp24 Says:

    Melissa, you have done it anything! You have hit on a major problem even among God’s children in today’s society. Let me assure you; I knew peace in yet a different way when my husband passed away in 2008. Although grieving was real; I had total and complete peace in my heart that could only come from God, the Holy Spirit/His presence makes all the difference in the world in the midst of pain and hurt as well as in day to day life. 🙂

    • faithdp24 Says:

      I’m sorry about that final part. I should have stopped at “the Holy Spirit” and begun a new sentence beginning with “his presence. . . .”. Please forgive my very bad grammar. (I detest bad grammar; but there it is.) LOL

  2. Judy Says:

    I know I’m way behind on reading this. I was distracted! Tonight, I allowed some silence in as I cleaned up my emails and found this. Perfect timing. Thanks God and thanks Melissa for listening to Him.

    • Hi Judy-thank you. I am glad you found some time to read this and then listen. We just need to keep pressing in don’t we?  Melissa Finneganwww.5020genesis.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

