Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: The Crimson Cord by Jill Eileen Smith February 16, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 2:09 pm
Tags: , ,

crimosn cord

About:

“Rahab’s story is one of the most moving redemption accounts in Scripture. The Crimson Cord perfectly captures all the drama of the original, fleshing out the characters with care and thought. Jill’s storytelling skills kept me reading late into the night. A beautiful tale, beautifully told!”–Liz Curtis Higgs, New York Times bestselling author of Mine Is the Night

Wife to a gambler who took one too many risks, Rahab finds herself sold as a slave to cover her husband’s debt. Forced into prostitution, she despairs of ever regaining her freedom and her self-respect. But when Israelite spies enter Jericho and come to lodge at her house, Rahab sees a glimmer of hope and the opportunity of a lifetime.

In one risky moment, she takes a leap of faith, puts her trust in a God she does not know, and vows to protect the spies from the authorities. When the armies of Israel arrive weeks later, Rahab hopes they will keep their promise, but she has no idea what kind of challenges await her outside Jericho’s walls–or if she will ever know the meaning of love.

Under Jill Eileen Smith’s talented hand, the familiar story of Rahab bursts forth in high definition. Immerse yourself in a world of dark and dusty streets, clandestine meetings, and daring escapes as a mysterious biblical figure claims her full humanity–and a permanent place in your heart.

Jill Eileen Smith is the bestselling author of the Wives of King David series, the Wives of the Patriarchs series, and The Desert Princess, first in the Loves of King Solomon series. Her research into the lives of biblical women has taken her from the Bible to Israel, and she particularly enjoys learning how women lived in Old Testament times. Jill lives with her family in southeast Michigan. Learn more at www.jilleileensmith.com.

My thoughts and giveaway:

Wow. Wow. Wow. Jill is a brilliant author. This is only the second book I have read by her but I have to say she my favorite Biblical fiction author I have read yet.

She takes people who are familiar to us and gives them a voice. One I never saw coming. I have to keep reminding myself that is Jill’s take on Rahab and her story might not have actually happened this way.

I never thought about the fact that maybe Rahab didn’t want to be a prostitute, that maybe she was forced into it. Maybe she was like many of us, hungry for love and gave herself away to the wrong man.

I loved how we see Rahab’s heart begin to change and wonder if many she is worshipping the “god”. Maybe the God of Israel is the real deal.

One thing the really struck me was the great fear the people in Jericho had of our God. I thought as I read this that people today don’t really fear Him. If they did I don’t think we would have all the sin we see today. I think we have forgotten that Jesus said that we will do even greater things than He did. But are we? I know I don’t feel I am and because I don’t live in that truth I don’t think people see God and therefore don’t fear Him like people once did. Just something to think about.

We also get inside the Israelite camp and meet Joshua and then Salmon who is Boaz’s father (Rahab is Boaz’s mother). Boaz is the great-grandfather to King David. So cool to read about how all of this could have happened.

I could say so much more. I truly enjoyed this book and highly recommend this one.

Visit Jill here.

Grab a copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com,  or Books-A-Million.

Leave a comment by February 25th for your chance to win a copy. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

19 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: The Crimson Cord by Jill Eileen Smith”

  1. carylkane Says:

    Thank you for the excellent review of The Crimson Cord. I love the story of Rahab. 🙂

    psalm103and138[at]gmail[dot]com

  2. Loraine N. Says:

    I am really looking forward to reading this book. I find the fictional accounts of Bible characters really interesting. Thanks for the review and giveaway!

  3. Melanie Backus Says:

    Great review, thank you for sharing!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  4. Kathryn Voss Says:

    I can’t wait to read this book!!! Thanks for the review!

  5. Karen Spiegel Says:

    I also like the fictional accounts of Bible characters. It brings them to life. Would love to win this book.

  6. D K Stevens Says:

    What an interesting review I’d like to read more of this book.. thank you…
    dkstevensneAToutlookD OtCoM

  7. I also love stretching the bible stories with many details! This sounds like a wonderful book to read on the bus going through Nicaragua!

  8. Patty Says:

    Thanks for the review. I haven’t read much biblical fiction and would love to read Rahab’s story.

  9. lib1lady Says:

    Our church library readers love books based on the Bible.
    Thanks for entering me in your giveaway.

  10. KayM Says:

    Great comments, Melissa. The other day, I was reading some verses from the Bible about fearing God. I agree with you, most people I know do not fear God. I think it’s kind of a hard concept for people in our culture to understand. I don’t think people understand His power and His justice. I love Biblical fiction. This book really interests me. Thank you for offering a copy.
    may_dayzee(at)yahoo(dot)com


Leave a Reply

