Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Cari Schaeffer February 25, 2015

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:38 pm
Tags: , ,

cariToday we get write to the point with Cari Schaeffer. Read on to learn more about her and her amazing testimony.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I was born to a hippy in California and grew up all over the Southwestern United States. In fact, I wrote my mother’s address in pencil for years because I knew it would change frequently. I am currently married (will be celebrating 25 years in March) and have three children. I have been writing for about three years now and plan to write as long as God gives me stories to tell.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I came to know Him in church as a child. I heard the Gospel message every Sunday and one day, when I was about 5 years old, I just felt it was for me. I answered when the Pastor gave the altar call.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

My first novel was published almost a year ago. It is titled “Faith, Hope, Love, and Chocolate”. What I want readers to take away after the last page is a deeper understanding of who God is, rather that who we believe Him to be. I also wantFaithHopeLoveandChocolateFinal women in particular to see themselves through His eyes rather than through the lens of life. Every single woman I have ever met carries deep wounds, warped parts of themselves and tries very hard to hide it. They hide it from friends, family, spouses, and children. They even try to hide it from themselves. It doesn’t work. The warped sense of self permeates every aspect of life. I want them to see God knows and loves them and has a plan for their lives.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

I don’t blog nearly as often as potentially I should. My blog is Conversations with Cari and I try to cover areas of interest that women care about. I cover fitness, food, finances, and overall well being.

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

“Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons”. It is not a Christian fiction, but it is just a good read. It’s about a group of women on Freesia Court that start a book club. It lasts for decades, as does their friendships. They all come from different backgrounds and have amazing challenges to overcome. It’s their friendships that endure and carry them through life’s challenges.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

Wow. Where do I start? As I said earlier, I was born to a hippy. Here’s the elongated story – I was born to a nineteen year old run away and I have an older sister. My father was ten years older than my mother and a criminal. Some of his closest friends were pictures my mother would see on the FBI’s Ten Most Wanted list back then. In fact, my mother was the unwitting driver of a get away vehicle once when my father robbed a convenience store.

My father left before my first birthday and we never heard from him again, except to find out in the early eighties that he had been killed a few years earlier. As a single mother, my mom struggled to raise us and often made unwise choices in relationships. I knew the smell of marijuana by the time I was six. I could very easily have been harmed in so many ways growing up, but I was not. God protected me and my sister in the midst of some pretty horrible situations.

As I mentioned earlier, I heard the Gospel in church every Sunday thanks to the bus ministries that existed then. My mother would go to church about as often as she didn’t. But she always made sure my sister and I went. My grandparents prayed fervently for us and hounded her about it, thankfully. As I grew up, I knew the life my mother had was not the life I wanted for myself.

When I graduated high school, I determined that my life would be different. I joined the Air Force because I wanted to contribute to society rather than be on welfare, and I wanted to go to college. The GI Bill would (and did) allow me to do that. I launched my life higher, better, and more than it could have been otherwise. God guided me in the decisions I made and still does. I am so very thankful for Him. I literally owe him my life.

Wow, it’s so amazing how God has worked in you life, thanks for sharing that 🙂

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

Oh, yes! Jeremiah 29:11 – “For I know the thoughts and plans that I have for you, says the Lord, thoughts and plans for welfare and peace and not for evil, to give you hope in your final outcome.” (Amplified version)

This verse is the foundation of my life. It let me know early on that God saw and He knew. He knew I was better than where I was or where I had come from. My earthly father rejected me, but my Heavenly Father made me and saw me as priceless. That is what and who I am.

Where can we find you on the web?

Mostly on Facebook under Cari Schaeffer. I also have a website www.carischaeffer.com .

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

I just hope that anyone who reads this will realize the truth about themselves and about God. Don’t let this world warp you into something or someone you were never meant to be. He is always there and He knows you. He loves you.

Thanks so much for sharing with my readers. I pray God will continue to bless your writing journey.

 

Leave a Reply

