Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Grab Your Sword February 27, 2015

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 5:25 pm
Tags: ,

swordThe other night my husband was putting my son to bed. They were playing with his swords and having a little battle. Soon I heard my husband say, “Okay, let’s go pray, grab your sword.”

I stopped what I was doing and looked at him and said, “That was the coolest sentence ever!”

Let’s go pray, grab your sword.”

I mean really, wonder if we looked at prayer like that, a battle against the enemy, that every time we prayed the enemy grew a little weaker. Our words like swords, stabbing a hole in his evil plans.

Well, I have news for you…our prayers are like weapons against the enemy’s evil schemes. Each time you utter a word of praise and thanksgiving, even in the middle of your storm, you are weakening the lies in your heart and mind and Jesus is setting you free.

Ephesians 6:17 says: …take the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. (NLT)

Then it goes on and says in 18:Pray in the Spirit at all times and on every occasion. Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all believers everywhere.

So the sword is the Spirit and we are to pray in the Spirit at all times and stay alert and persistent. Hmmm….sounds like battle to me.

I love when someone says something they never intended to be super spiritual but God reveals a truth in those words.

Next time you pray make sure you grab your sword, you’re headed into battle 🙂

 

 

3 Responses to “Grab Your Sword”

  1. Pattyboy Says:

    It sounds to me like your husband is a super amazing man!

  2. faithdp24 Says:

    What great truth you expressed in a short devotional all from a simple statement! In deed, that is the way it happens sometimes. Thank you for sharing it; It is greatly appreciated!!! 😉


Leave a Reply

