Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Nike Chillemi March 4, 2015

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:40 am
Tags: ,

nikeToday we get write to the point with Nike Chillemi. Read on to learn more about her.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I grew up in a tiny hamlet in NYS’s Mid-Hudson Valley. This will date me, but I actually went to a little red school house with three rooms when I was in kindergarten. The kindergarten, first, and second grades were all in one room. The following year, I was bussed to the large elementary school and the little school house was used for storage. My dad was an English teacher and we had lots of books in our house, hundreds of them. I’ve been writing seriously for publication for about nine years.

 

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I come from a large family with several nationalities present and more than one religion. My maternal grandmother was Ukrainian Catholic and kept icons in her bedroom. My dad’s side wasn’t religious at all. I had several Jewish aunts. I wasn’t particularly religious and didn’t know much about Bible Christianity. Then about five years into my marriage, there was a crisis in my husband’s family with yelling and accusations accompanying it. I retreated from this and turned on the television that Sunday morning. Flipping through channels. I came across Gloria Copeland preaching for her husband Kenneth. She didn’t have big hair and she was intelligent, so I listened. At the end of the show I put my hands on the TV screen and accepted Jesus.

 

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

I began with writing the Sanctuary Point historical classic-mystery series. These are set in the mid-1940s. In what was a harmfuldeparture and a bit of a risk, I then self-published HARMFUL INTENT, a contemporary whodunit with lots of action, a bit of grit, and quite a bit of humor. What I’d like my readers to take away from all of my books is that evil is real and present in the world. My novels demonstrate that heroes and heroines are ordinary, flawed individuals who have fear, but who step up to fight the evil they see.

 

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

I blog two to four times a month. My articles center around crime fiction themes, but I do stray into other areas. I had a series of articles last year falling under the general subtheme: Killing Belly Fat Is Murder. Food is a subtheme that is present in all five of my novels. The historical novels showcase the hearty fare of the 1940s. HARMFUL INTENT presents the healthier eating cookinghabits of today. A few bloggers have said my writing could also be called foodie fiction. I’ve been told I’m a good cook. I particularly enjoy cooking holiday meals.

 

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

It’s the novel that won the 2013 Grace Awards in the Action-Adventure/Western/Epic Fiction category which I judged. BURING SKY by Lori Benton is a captivating historical novel that nails the post-American Revolutionary War period and its characters virtually jump off the page.

 

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

I love the book of Genesis. It sets everything else up and I find myself going back and referring to it a lot. I remember a good number of years ago, when I was a volunteer at the local VA hospital in the chaplain’s office. At that time quite a few evangelicals were volunteering and were getting visible in the weekly prayer services. We began to be aware there was some opposition to us among hospital staff. One day I was making rounds with the chaplain and handing out a little monthly prayer booklet. The chaplain got called away and I went into the next room where four veterans were each in a bed. I asked if anyone wanted prayer. One shot his hand up and said, “I do.” So, I began to pray and he joined me and it got a bit enthusiastic. Well, a male nurse rushed in and yelled at me, “What do you think you’re doing? You have to leave.” All four men said, “Let the girl pray. We want her to pray.” That could have resulted me being dismissed as a volunteer, but it didn’t.

 

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

Right now I’m into blessing people and situations, if for nothing more than to bring God into the midst of it. The verse that’s ever present in my life now is Numbers 6:24-26 [NASB] The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make His face shine upon you, And be gracious to you; The Lord lift His countenance on you, And give you peace. To me that is so much more than a formal benediction at the end of a church service.

Where can we find you on the web?

You can find me at my blog, Nike Chillemi ~ Crime Fictionista. https://nikechillemi.wordpress.com/

And at my author page on Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/Nike-Chillemi/e/B0050ZD44O/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Thanks so much for sharing with my readers. May God continue to bless your writing journey.

 

2 Responses to “Write to the Point with Nike Chillemi”

  1. Nice article, Nike. I’ve known you for 9+ years but didn’t know you had volunteered in the chaplain’s office at a VA hospital. Now, if you’d brought in some of your foodie stuff, I bet the staff wouldn’t have objected so much to the prayers! LOL!

    I also love that verse from Numbers. No wonder we’re “partner’s in crime” (as writers)!!

  2. Jan Parys Says:

    Thank you for sharing about the Lord and godly authors. Blessings, Jan (Parys)


Leave a Reply

