Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

The Salt Covenants by Sylvia Bambola March 30, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 3:38 pm
Tags: ,

salt

About:

Spain 1493: Isable has broken her mother’s heart by becoming a sincere convert to Christianity. But when she is noticed by Friar Alonso at La Casa Santa, the Holy House, she is forced to flee the Inquisition by entering into a loveless marriage and sailing with Christopher Columbus on his second voyage to the New World. But all too soon Isabel is forced to struggle alone in her new life and new faith. With all the risks and hardships how is she to survive? And will she ever find love in this strange land? And what of the dangerous Enrique Vivar? Will his hidden agenda cost her her life?

My thoughts:

I love when I am pleasantly surprised by a book, when I begin a new book not exactly sure if I will like it and find myself drawn into the story.

That’s what happened with The Salt Covenants. This was such an interesting time in history and in a setting we often don’t think about when it comes to persecuting Jews. When I think about Jews being treated poorly I usually think about Germany and World War II, not Spain.

Sylvia definitely did her homework in writing this book. The characters are rich and well-developed. My heart broke so many times while reading this book as families were torn a part.

What I kept thinking about as I read was that Christians where the ones doing all this horrible stuff. People who are supposed to be modeling Christ to the world are killing and raping people who don’t believe like them.

I felt Isable’s struggle as she claimed this new faith yet saw what so many Christians were doing to her people. I wondered how she could continue to hold strong. It would be so easy to walk away and not believe. But she remained strong.

I really enjoyed this book and think if you like historical fiction set in unique places this is a book you will enjoy as well.

Visit Sylvia here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

A copy of this book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

