Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: The Creole Princess by Beth White April 9, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:33 pm
Tags: , ,

creole

About:

Torn between loyalties to family and flag, one young woman is about to discover that her most important allegiance is to her heart.

It is 1776, and all along the eastern seaboard the American struggle for independence rages. But in the British-held southern port of Mobile, Alabama, the conflict brewing is much quieter–though no less deadly.

Lyse Lanier may be largely French in heritage, but she spends most of her time in the company of the ebullient daughter of the British commander of Mobile. When a charming young Spanish merchant docks in town, Lyse is immediately struck by his easy wit and flair for the dramatic. But is he truly who he makes himself out to be? Spies abound, and Spain has yet to choose a side in the American conflict. Is Lyse simply an easy mark for Rafael Gonzalez to exploit? Or are his overtures of love as genuine as Spanish gold?

With spectacular detail that brings the cultural gumbo of the Colonial Gulf Coast alive, Beth White invites you to step into a world of intrigue and espionage from a little-known slice of the American Revolutionary War.

My thoughts and giveaway:

This is the first book by Beth I have had the chance to read. I’m glad picked up this book.

This is a part and place in history I haven’t given much thought to, pre-revolutionary war. Racial tensions already exist and social lines are drawn.

This book is rich in description. I love Beth’s style of writing and the pictures she paints of the south.

Lyse is definitely not what I expected. She starts out barefoot and dancing. She isn’t afraid to get her hands dirty and push against social norms.

Rafael is handsome and cultured. His coming and going from Lyse’s life makes their meetings even more precious.

All the characters in this book come to life and are well-developed.

A beautiful read set in a unique time.

Visit Beth here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by April 20th for your chance to win a copy. (U.S. residents only. I am not responsible for books lost in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

16 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: The Creole Princess by Beth White”

  1. carylkane Says:

    Thank you for the great review of THE CREOLE PRINCESS! I would love to read it. 🙂

  2. Beth C Says:

    The cover of the book is beautiful. Like you, Melissa, I haven’t given much thought to pre-Revolutionary War racial tensions. Sounds like a very interesting book.

  3. Kathryn Voss Says:

    I’d love to win a copy! Thanks for the opportunity! And the cover is lovely.

  4. Thx so much for the great review and giveaway opportunity, Melissa! As soon as I saw this lovely cover I HAD to post it on my FB. The colors are so springy and pretty. I would love to read it!

  5. Janella Says:

    I have not read any of her books but I do find the burb interesting.

    Thanks for the giveaway, I enjoy books with rich description.

  6. Melissa B. Says:

    You don’t see Creole stories too often. I would love to read this.

  7. Amyc Says:

    I cannot wait to get my hands on this book. As a former gulf coast resident, I’m interested how the author envisions the area during that time.
    Campbellamyd at gmail dot com

  8. D K Stevens Says:

    I do enjoy reading books taking place during the American Revolutionary War.. I’d enjoy reading this..
    dkstevens AToutlookDoTCoM

  9. Thanks to all who commented. Random.org choose number 2!


Leave a Reply

