Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Cristine Eastin April 15, 2015

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:52 pm
Tags: , ,

cristine-eastin-web_2 Today we get write to the point with author Cristine Eastin. She has a giveaway for you as well. So read on and learn more about her.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

When in the office I’m a psychotherapist, but I’m also a wife, stepmother, and grandma.

 

I have two grown stepchildren, a son-in-law, and two grandchildren; my husband, Dave, is a psychologist. The family includes two rescue cats, known collectively as “The Monsters,” and an Australian shepherd, the smartest dog ever.

 

Raised in Minnesota, I feel grafted in as a Wisconsinite. I think if you pierced my heart, but please don’t, out would come a drift of pine needles and clear, tannin-colored lake water, followed by a loon call: a Northerner at heart.

 

I keep busy collecting hobbies. For instance, in winter you’ll find me on the ski slopes, and in summer I might be kayaking. And in between I try to visit Scotland or England whenever possible.

 

Two things of the many that shaped me are: living in Europe in my 20s, and God’s grace to me. I can sum up my faith story in, “I…, but God…,” for which I’m eternally grateful.

 

I work, live, and write by the motto “…because you can’t pour from an empty pitcher.”

 

Speaking of writing: Fifty Days to Sunrise is my first novel. Before that, my writing was focused on academic writing and related to my work. I wouldn’t have guessed that positive feedback on my doctoral dissertation would lead me back to my childhood love of creative writing, but it did.

 

And I’m a member of American Christian Fiction Writers.

I have an Australian shepherd too and she is such an amazing dog 🙂

 

 

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

Looking back, I know I knew Jesus as a grade schooler, but then I got too smart for my britches and thought it was all just a nice story. I wandered in my faith, not caring about Jesus, yet never actually denying Him, until 1982 when I met my husband, who was a Christian, and I started doing my own seeking for the Lord. I found Him! And I’ve never let go since.

 

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

Fifty Days to Sunrise is a love story of grief and healing, family, friends, and faith. Healing a broken heart is a lot to ask—it FiftyDaysToSunrise-02-kindlehurts.

At the end, I hope readers smile.

 

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

I try to blog a couple times a month. I have a lot of interests, so it’s been a struggle to hone my blog focus. I love photography, I know a lot about psychology, I love to travel (especially in Scotland and England), I love the Lord, and I love to write—so what’s a writer to do when there are so many fun topics?

 

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

Two books, since it’s a series: I love, love, love Liz Curtis Higgs’s Here Burns My Candle and Mine is the Night. Higgs is an evocative writer; she transports me to Scotland for much cheaper than the cost of airfare. And the story is so romantic. A big “aww” at the end.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life? to hurt you in some way, but God turned it around for good I would appreciate it)

About 40 years ago, near Geneva, Switzerland—I fell off a mountain.

 

I was hiking with friends on the Salève, a table-top mountain in France, just outside Geneva. The path was narrow, and, for a split second, I forgot to concentrate on where I was putting my feet. My right foot slipped off the path, and down I went. I mean down. Straight down! My left foot instantly caught a toehold, and my left hand grabbed a root sticking out at the level of the path.

 

Almost as quickly, my friends pulled me up to safety. I don’t remember looking down, so I don’t really know how much peril I was in. But my friends were clearly deeply shaken.

 

I resumed the hike as if nothing had happened, but it had.

 

Years later, when I quit my faith wandering and came back to the Lord, I had a clear sense that I had been saved from great bodily harm, even death. I knew the Lord had provided the toehold and the tree root. Though I was defiant and not caring about Him at the time of the incident, He never left me.

 

I don’t understand why the Lord works the way He does, why I was spared—a refrain we all repeat. That same summer, a young woman who was hiking the Salève with her family, fell to her death.

 

I don’t understand, but I trust the Lord, and I praise Him for his grace and mercy.

Thank you so much for sharing. A beautiful reminder of God’s sovereignty.

 

 

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

1 Corinthians 2: 9-10

 

But as it is written:

Eye has not seen, nor ear heard,

Nor have entered into the heart of man

The things which God has prepared for those who love Him.

 

But God has revealed them to us through His Spirit. For the Spirit searches all things, yes, the deep things of God.

Thanks so much for sharing with my readers, Cristine. I pray God will continue to bless your writing journey.

Readers, Cristine is giving away copy of her book to one commentator. Leave a comment by April 22nd for you chance to win. Winner will be chosen by random.org.

 

 

Where can we find you on the web?

http://cristineeastin.com

 

Is there anything I didnt ask that you would like to add?

I’ve got a Goodreads Giveaway going on the month of April.

My next novel is set in the Highlands of Scotland in Wester Ross on the sea. The research trip last fall was great.

 

8 Responses to “Write to the Point with Cristine Eastin”

  1. Melissa, that’s so fun that you have an Aussie too! They are the greatest. Our first, a male, was out of “working” stock, and he was a handful. Fortunately, we lived on a farmette then. Our next one, a female, was from “pet” stock, as is our current female—much more relaxed! What color do you have? We’ve had two blue merles and a red merle.

    And, btw, my main character in “Fifty Days to Sunrise” is named Melissa!

    • We think Gizmo (our dog) is a mix of border collie and Australian shepherd. We had never even heard of Aussie’s until a friend of mine said her mom used to raise them and thought Gizmo had that in her so we looked it up and agreed. She definitely displays a lot of Aussie characteristics. She is white with black and brown spotting. We rescued her when she was homeless and has been one of the biggest blessings in our family.

  2. Great interview. Evocative questions and interesting answers. Thanks Melissa and Cris! I enjoyed this! (and I hereby offer my services to Cris as a personal attendant on her next trip to Scotland)

  3. Hi Melissa, nice to meet Cristine. Interesting interview. Would like to win her book.
    Thanks, Maxie

  4. Beth C Says:

    Enjoyed the interview very much. Healing a broken heart is a lot to ask and I would enjoy reading this.


Leave a Reply

