Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

The Legacy by Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley April 16, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:32 pm
Tags: , , ,

legacy

About:

One young man is about to discover the true cost of independence

For years, Doug Anderson has been drifting slowly but steadily away from both his family and his faith. His parents have been trying to reach him before he falls too far. His friend Christina hopes what she is seeing online isn’t true. But sometimes you have to hit bottom before you’re ready to grow up.

Just as things begin to settle down a bit, Doug’s life takes a turn that requires every bit of faith and patience for both his family and Christina–whose growing feelings for Doug, a man who writes her off as not worth his time, keep her off balance. Will Doug’s crisis finally clear his vision and help him focus on what he has right in front of him?

My thoughts:

I was drawn into this book quickly as I could relate a lot to Doug and the party scene at college. Been there, done that and it really wasn’t all I wanted it to be.

I did feel myself drifting out of the story after the first five chapters or so. I think I kept expecting something really big to happen and it didn’t when I expected it too. Events were happening just not a big life changing one. But eventually my interest was drawn back into the story.

Part of my problem might have been that I haven’t read the other books. I didn’t realize they were so connected with continuing stories. It reminded me a lot of Karen Kingsbury’s books and her family sagas.

I think the authors did a very good job showing a family struggling with a child who is walking a way from their faith and how to handle that.

Overall, a good story and if you have read the other books I am sure you will be satisfied with this ending of the series.

Visit Dan here.

Visit Gary here.

Grab you copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

