Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Counting My Blessings April 17, 2015

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:51 pm
Tags: , ,

I thought it might be fun to share our blessings. I have to be honest, I am not FEELING overflowing happiness today. But I’ve learned we can’t let our feelings dictate our lives.

So, to spit in the face of feelings I am choosing to share blessings today so I can be reminded of how good our God truly is.

Here are some things that are blessing me this week:

Spring sports. Yeah, I never thought I would say that. I am not a sports-girl at all. But I love watching my kids play. My daughter started softball practice this week and my son started soccer. I love going to see their games and watching them improve and feeling the weather warm-up with each game and the community that forms between the team and parents.

Red-winged black birds. I started noticing these birds several years ago on my way to work. They a-red-winged-blackbird-looks-below-from-its-position-on-a-tree-branch_w725_h544perch on stiff weeds in ditches and old corn stalks from the previous summer. They only come back to Michigan when the weather warms-up. A sure sign summer is coming. I almost feel like they are giving me a beautiful procession on my way to work.

Pink sunrises. I believe it was Wednesday, I left for a work bit earlier than normal and the sunrise was a beautiful pink. Our God is so creative.

Fridays. Yes, I love Fridays. They are just as long as any other day of the week but there is just something about waking up and knowing it’s Friday.

Waking up to a good song. Today I woke up to Big Daddy Weave singing Yours Will Be (The Only Name). What better way to wake up and be reminded that Jesus name should be the only name on my lips today.

Those are just a few of my blessings. But I would love to hear how God has blessed you this week. How has he shown you He loves you? Please share in the comments, it will encourage us all 🙂

 

6 Responses to “Counting My Blessings”

  1. Heather Says:

    God has blessed me so much but one of the big things this week is He’s stirred my heart & the hearts of some of sisters who I have served with in the past to start reaching out to women working in the strip clubs. We had to pause for a season but God is reopening the door for this type of ministry & I am overwhelmed by His love & grace that He still wants to use me!

  2. Judy Says:

    Despite messing up my knee, I’m able to work on two manuscripts. The Star Jasmine is in bloom, right outside my window.

  3. Justina Prima Says:

    Thank you for reminding me that no matter what, there are blessings. Even when we see nothing but darkness, there will be something we can reach out and touch…


Leave a Reply

