Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

On the Edge: A Solo Hiker’s Journey by Stacie J. Ourlian April 21, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews,Tuesday Thoughts — Melissa Finnegan @ 3:15 pm
Tags: , ,

on the edge

About:

Filled with disappointment and confusion, a solo hiker travels 2,000 miles away from her home to the mountains of Sedona, Arizona, in search of peace. While on the trails in the wilderness and mountains, the hiker meets people and experiences situations that can only be credited as an amazing intervention from God.

With a different experience each day, the four-day vacation prepares the hiker for a new beginning. Although in search of peace, she finds something that will continue to be with her for the rest of her life: religion. Feeling as if God has wrapped his arms around her, the hiker spends the next four days seeking a relationship with Jesus. By the last day, she feels the overwhelming need to write about everything that she experienced in the wilderness and mountains of Sedona. No longer feeling on the edge, the hiker retells her incredible story in the hope of bringing others peace, contentment, and a stronger relationship with our Lord and Savior.

My thoughts:

I really enjoyed reading about Stacie’s journey as she hikes the Sedona mountains. I love encountering God’s presence outside in nature. That’s why I love camping.

The book starts with a bit of history about Stacie and how she got to the point of needing to truly encounter Jesus. I always love transparency and Stacie certainly gives the reader that.

Then we have seven chapters that share her journey. The first part of the chapter is very scriptural based and eventually ties in with what she will share on her journey for that day, which is the second part of the chapter. She did a great job describing the scenery and atmosphere. I could really picture being there myself. And the pictures she included where beautiful.

She has some “only God” meetings that I appreciated. Things that only God could orchestra. It almost seems unreal, yet if we believe that our God is as big as He says He is it isn’t unreal at all but completely possible.

For me personally I did struggle with the use of the word “religion” on the back cover blurb and the word was used a couple of times in the first chapter. When I think of religion I think of rules and rituals and going through the motions of church. I grew up with a lot of religion and had no relationship with Jesus. Therefore, I prefer the word relationship. But that’s just me and as I read the book and got to know Stacie’s heart I don’t feel she means the word in the way I interrupt it. So if that word tends to rub you the wrong way don’t let that scare you off from reading the book.

This book is a good reflection piece and inspired me to truly notice my surroundings and how God is working in all aspects of my life and not to take any encounter lightly.

Visit Stacie here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

A copy of this book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

