Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Together With You by Victoria Bylin May 4, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:20 pm
Tags: , ,

together with you

About:

Sometimes the most unexpected love can be exactly what a heart needs…

When a Lost Child warning blares over the mall’s PA system, Carly Mason finds the little girl playing with a stuffed rabbit. Something about Penny Tremaine is different. An ex-social worker, Carly recognizes that the child suffers fetal alcohol effects, and a piece of Carly’s past suddenly confronts her. Never again will she become personally involved with a client. The risks are far too great. But something about Penny–and Penny’s handsome father–tugs at Carly’s heart.

Dr. Ryan Tremaine is trying to put his life back together. With his ex-wife remarried and on a trip far away, his two teenage sons and Penny are living under his roof full time. Ryan has put his faith in his Sink-or-Swim list, a plan to reconnect with his children. The first step: recruit Carly Mason to be Penny’s nanny.

Ryan never anticipated being so drawn to Carly, an attraction Carly seems to fight as much as he does. Could Carly be the missing piece that helps his family stay afloat, or will their blossoming romance only complicate things further?

Known for her realistic and engaging characters, Victoria Bylin delivers an emotion-packed story reminiscent of The Sound of Music, one that reminds us all to believe in the power of faith and love.

My thoughts and giveaway:

I so enjoyed Victoria’s first novel as I was excited to read this one. My excitement wasn’t in vain. This is a wonderful story about how God can use our brokenness to draw us closer to Him.

The character of Carly was so well-developed. I loved how she handled issues that came up in the Tremaine family. But she wasn’t perfect. She had her past mistakes that she needed to deal with.

Ryan was a great character as well, distant yet not. I couldn’t wait to see how he would come to know Jesus, how his heart would soften and how God would draw his family together.

I loved that Victoria allowed to see the world from Penny’s perspective. Wow. That was a real eye-opener and made me realize how the things we say can mean something totally different to a child who learns differently then we do.

Overall, a wonderful story that will have you thinking and remembering how good our God is.

Visit Victoria here.

Grab your copy at  your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by May 13th for you chance to be entered to win a copy. Winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. residents only. I am not responsible for books lost in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

15 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Together With You by Victoria Bylin”

  1. carylkane Says:

    I’ve not read any of Victoria’s books. I love reading about a character’s faith journey. I can’t wait to read TOGETHER WITH YOU! Thank you for your review and giveaway.

  2. Karen Says:

    Sounds like a book i would enjoy reading

  3. Melanie Backus Says:

    Count me in, please! Thank you for the giveaway!

  4. Pam Lunsford Says:

    I would really like to read this book, it sounds very good. Your comments about the book is what made me want to read it. Well, the chance to win “Together with You” helped.

    Pam

  5. Beth C Says:

    Together With You looks like a very good book! Love to be entered to win it.

  6. Patty Says:

    I have not read any of Voctoria’s books either, but this sounds like a powerful contemporary story.

  7. It was such a pleasure “meeting” you at the facebook party a few days ago. I enjoyed learning about you and your other books. I have really been missing out. I would love the first book I read by you be Together With You . It sounds so great .
    DeanneCnnamongirl
    Cnnamongirl(at)aol(dot)com

  8. Hi Melissa. Great review.Seems Victoria has some good books out. I would love to win this one. Thanks for a chance. Please enter me. Thanks and GOD bless. Maxie

  9. Martha J. Sturm Says:

    Sounds romantic and heartbreaking also. I briefly met a child with Fetal Alcohol Syndrome who had been adopted. Bless the people who love all the little children.


Leave a Reply

