Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Like a Child (or a puppy) May 8, 2015

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 3:31 pm
Tags: , ,

puppyBut I have calmed and quieted my soul, like a weaned child with its mother; like a weaned child is my soul within me. Psalm 131: 2 ESV

I’m not really a dog person. However, we do have a dog that I love because she is so totally amazing. But any other dog I am very leery of and don’t warm-up easily to them.

There is a couple in our Life Group who  has a puppy. She is like all puppies, excited and wants to jump on you. To be honest I have been pretty stand-offish with her.

Last week toward the end of group Molly (the puppy) jumped up on the couch next to me. She curled up beside me and put the entire weight of her being into me. I mean this girl pressed into me hard. I was surprised by the force of her little body.

Soon I found my hand stroking her and then her little head ended up on my lap and she closed her eyes. I was done for 🙂

Over the last week I came across the scripture above and was reminded of Molly and her insistent pressing in and then her peaceful nature after she pressed in.

And I got it!

This is what Jesus wants from us.

He wants us to press in HARD. Not half-hearted, pushing tentatively. No, He wants His children to press into Him and mean it. Press with all we have.

Then what will happen?

Peace.

If a non-dog lover like me can soften and start stroking the puppy how much more will Jesus hold us and give us His peace? His children who He loves?

Soon we will find ourselves resting in His lap, allowing His love to stroke us.

I love this picture, don’t you?

What do we do when we are anxious? Press in and mean it.

What do we do when we receive bad news? Press in and mean it.

What do we do when our day is full of joy? Press in and mean.

Do you get the point?

No matter what our day brings, good, bad, ugly, Jesus longs for us to jump up beside Him and press in…and mean it!!!

 

 

4 Responses to “Like a Child (or a puppy)”

  1. Judy Says:

    I’ve been tentative, my whole life. A difficult habit to break, but this is helpful in reframing the problem. Thanks, Melissa.

    • You’re welcome, Judy. I too have struggled with this overall in my life. It sounds strange coming from someone who leads worship but the Holy Spirit totally has His way in me as I lead. The rest of the time I have trouble getting out of the way and letting Him 🙂

  2. Kristyanna Says:

    Aw. Beautifully said.


Leave a Reply

