Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

A Love Like Ours by Becky Wade May 18, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:20 pm
Tags: , ,

a love like ours

About:

Former Marine Jake Porter has far deeper scars than the one that marks his face. He struggles with symptoms of PTSD, lives a solitary life, and avoids relationships.

When Lyndie James, Jake’s childhood best friend, lands back in Holley, Texas, Jake cautiously hires her to exercise his Thoroughbreds. Lyndie is tender-hearted, fiercely determined, and afraid of nothing, just like she was as a child. Jake pairs her with Silver Leaf, a horse full of promise but lacking in results, hoping she can solve the mystery of the stallion’s reluctance to run.

Though Jake and Lyndie have grown into very different adults, the bond that existed during their childhood still ties them together. Against Jake’s will, Lyndie’s sparkling, optimistic personality begins to tear down the walls he’s built around his heart. A glimmer of the hope he’d thought he’d lost returns, but fears and regrets still plague him. Will Jake ever be able to love Lyndie like she deserves, or is his heart too shattered to mend?

My thoughts:

I have read the first two books in this series and loved them. I couldn’t wait to read this one.

The first book took me a while to get into while the second had my heart twisting and aching from the first few pages. I was hoping this book would be more like the second.

However, it took me a while to really get into this one. It was good, don’t get me wrong. I think I just had this expectation that it would grip me from the beginning. And although, I did care about the characters my heart wasn’t twisting in pain for them from the very beginning. It took awhile, but it did happen.

Lyndie is such a sweet spirit. I love her determination when it come to life. She has a disabled sister that honestly has prepared her to deal with Jake. Also, there is a horse that Lyndie is determined to win over. You’ll just have to read the book to see what happens.

Jake, or “tall, dark and brooding” as Lyndie likes to call him, totally fights his feelings for Lyndie, yet has this need to protect her and take care of her. The internal struggle within him is so real, you will feel his pain.

One thing I don’t remember in the other books is being inside the head of secondary characters. But this time we get to meet up with a character from the first book and see her point-of-view on things.

I also enjoyed seeing the other Porters and what they are up to.

If you haven’t read the other two books you won’t be lost. This can be read as a stand-alone.

Overall, another great book by Becky Wade. Contemporary romance lovers will enjoy this newest installment.

Visit Becky here.

Grab your copy at your local book store, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

An e-copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

