Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Water from my Heart by Charles Martin May 21, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:06 pm
Tags: ,

water from my herat

About:

Charlie Finn had to grow up fast, living alone by age sixteen. Highly intelligent, he earned a life-changing scholarship to Harvard, where he learned how to survive and thrive on the outskirts of privileged society.

That skill served him well in the cutthroat business world, as it does in more lucrative but dangerous ventures he now operates off the coast of Miami.

Charlie tries to separate relationships from work. But when his choices produce devastating consequences, he sets out to right wrongs, traveling to Central America where he will meet those who have paid for his actions, including a woman and her young daughter. Will their fated encounter present Charlie with a way to seek the redemption he thought was impossible—and free his heart to love one woman as he never knew he could?

My thoughts:

I have been wanting to read something by Charles Martin for a few years. I have heard excellent things about his books. Still, as I opened the pages of this book I wasn’t sure what to expect from his writing.

Wow. This is not your typical Christian fiction. I loved this book. Which is strange to say because our leading character isn’t a nice guy, not on the outside anyway. Deep down you can sense there is goodness in him, he just needs an encounter with the love of Christ.

This book sort of reminded me of Breaking Bad, or at least what I have heard about it. I haven’t actually watched the series, I’ve seen bits and pieces (dare I admit it?) and have heard others talk about the series. But the guy himself isn’t really a bad guy but is doing horrible things because he thinks it’s the best way to make money and make it fast.

The good news is both the character in Breaking Bad and this book see the error of their ways and try to make amends. But at what cost? What lives have been damaged because of these choices? Can things be redeemed?

Since this is a Christian book you hope there will be redemption. You but you will have to read the book for yourself to see if and how that all comes to be.

A wonderful read that will have you thinking about the book long after the last page.

Visit Charles here.

Grab your copy at your local book store, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

An e-copy of this book this book was given to me by the publisher through Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

 

2 Responses to “Water from my Heart by Charles Martin”

  1. Pam Says:

    Melissa, thanks for sharing your thoughts about this book. I have never read one of his before either, I usually just skip his books. I’m interested in finding out how this character turns out in the end.
    Thank you once again.


Leave a Reply

