Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Love’s Rescue by Christine Johnson June 4, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 3:03 pm
Tags: , ,

Print

About:

Can a girl enamored with the adventurous seas ever be content with the tame life of a Southern belle?

When her mother dies, Elizabeth Benjamin heads home to Key West, determined to transform herself into the perfect Southern belle her parents always wished her to be. But nothing goes according to plan. Her brother resents her, the servants do not obey her, and Rourke O’Malley, the dashing man she vowed to forget, refuses to relinquish his hold on her heart. Worst of all, it becomes painfully obvious that her father is not the man he appears to be.

As family secrets come to light, Elizabeth is faced with a difficult choice: to perform her duty and abandon her dreams, or to leave her life of privilege behind to chase the man her father sees as little better than a pirate.

From the first emotional page, author Christine Johnson throws you into a world of impossible choices, hidden desires, and heart-melting romance in the steamy South.

Christine Johnson is the author of several books for Steeple Hill and Love Inspired and has been twice named a finalist for Romance Writers of America’s Golden Heart award. When not writing, she loves to hike and explore God’s majestic creation. She and her husband, a Great Lakes ship pilot, split their time between northern Michigan and the Florida Keys. Learn more at http://www.christineelizabethjohnson.com.

My thoughts and giveaway:

I have read a couple of Christine’s Love Inspired books and really enjoyed them so I was excited to get my hands on a full length novel and get lost in one of her stories.

I wasn’t disappointed.

From the first page I was drawn into the drama of this story. There are so many layers I’m not sure where to  begin.

We start with a hurricane that changes Elizabeth’s course in life. We catch up with her four years later in another storm and finds herself in a mess. But she gets rescued by the one man she loves and the one she can never have.

She finds herself trying to fill her mother’s shoes but finds discouragement a constant companion. She is torn between doing what others expect of her and what her heart tells her to do.

How will this all play out? How can she make everyone happy, including herself? Is it even possible? You will have to read the book to find out 🙂

Visit Christine here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by June 15th for your chance to win a copy. Winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. residents only. I am not responsible for book lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

25 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Love’s Rescue by Christine Johnson”

  1. This sounds like an author I would really enjoy!

  2. Yes, if you haven’t read anything by Christine yet I think you will enjoy her 🙂

  3. Deanna S Says:

    What a life! I’m wondering which man she will end up with… I’d enjoy reading this 🙂
    dkstevensne AToutlookDOtCoM

  4. This is a new-to-me author, but sounds like an excellent read. The cover is beautiful, too. Thanks so much for the giveaway!

  5. agboss777 Says:

    This book sounds captivating and I love the cover! I haven’t read any of Christine Johnson, but it looks like it’s time to change that. I will definitely be adding “Love’s Rescue” to my reading list. thanks for the opportunity of this giveaway! nj[dot]bossman[at]gmail[dot]com

  6. carylkane Says:

    Christine is a new-to-me author. I would love to find out if Elizabeth can live as a Southern belle.

    psalm103and138[at]gmail[dot]com

  7. Karen Says:

    This a new author to me that i would enjoy reading.

  8. Ladette Says:

    Looks like a great book, new to me author, would love to read this book!! 🙂

  9. Patty Says:

    Sounds good, Christine is a new author to me! I love good historical fiction.

  10. wendynewcomb Says:

    This sounds like a good story, thank you for the chance to win a copy.

    wfnren at aol dot com

  11. Melanie Backus Says:

    I would love to read this one! Thank you for the opportunity!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  12. Susie Says:

    I know my daughter would love to read this one….she’s a historical romance junkie! Thanks for the giveaway!

    seventysevensusieqATyahooDOTcom

  13. Merry Says:

    I love stories with swashbuckling feel, so adventurous and romantic!
    worthy2bpraised at gmail dot com

  14. Aerykahkah Says:

    This book sounds like a good one! I haven’t read anything by this author, but I sure would like to. Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

  15. What a beautiful cover. The cover and the description of the story have really drawn me in. This is a must read for me. Shared on twitter.
    Deanne Patterson
    Cnnamongirl(at)aol(dot)com

  16. Loraine N. Says:

    This sounds like such an interesting story and I agree with everyone else, the cover is just beautiful. Christine is a new author for me so I am looking forward to reading this. Thanks for the review and giveaway!

  17. Rebecca Maney Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful story; I would love to win a copy of this book. To date, I have never read any of Christine’s stories.


Leave a Reply

