Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Stars June 5, 2015

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles,Uncategorized — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:40 pm
Tags: , ,
By Blair Fraser

By Blair Fraser

Today let’s take a look at the stars. They’re truly amazing, aren’t they? And our Savior knows each one by name.  Sometimes I think He just put them in the sky to show off a bit 🙂

Why do we really need stars? The answer is actually very simple. We need to learn something from them.

There are many lessons we could learn but I’m going to focus on one part today, and that is the fact that they shine.

One day, during my prayer time, God took me out on a dark night and we looked at the stars together. They were brilliant,what else would they be?  But I made an observation.  Sometimes the starts aren’t shining, or at least that’s what we say when we can’t see them, “Oh, the stars aren’t out tonight.” Hmm…that’s not really true is it?

God quickly let me know I was wrong, that they in fact never stop shining. I had never thought about that.  But aren’t they like the sun (which is our closest star)? There are days when we don’t see the sun shining. Just because WE don’t see it shining doesn’t mean it isn’t.

The same is true with the stars.  Just because we, as humans, don’t see them shining doesn’t mean they’re not.  And He always see them shining.

He told me to be like the stars, a star that shines for Him.  He said even though others may not see me, even though no one might be looking I am never to stop shining for Him because He sees me and He wants me to shine.

I tried to let that sink in….don’t just try to shine when people are looking, but shine when people aren’t looking because the Creator sees all His creation and sees me shining.

The stars don’t stop shining when you aren’t looking at them, they always shine on the off-chance you might look up and see them, they don’t want to be caught not shining.  And even on those cloudy nights when we don’t see them they still shine because their Creator sees them and that’s all that really matters.

To me this means don’t just try to be a “good” Christian when I am at church or around other Christians, but even when I am driving and someone cuts me off, even when I am standing in line at the grocery store and the clerk is moving sooooo slow.  Even when my kids are driving me completely crazy, even when my job is not all I dreamed it would be, even when I am cleaning the house, doing laundry, dishes.

Shine.

How do I do that?

I don’t let my thoughts grumble about people or my work.  I focus on my Creator, I need to shine for Him in all things.  This isn’t an easy task, but it’s well worth it when you think about your Creator watching you.

He smiles, nods and whispers, “I see you shining, my child, even if no one else does.”

So my dear brothers and sisters, my shining brothers and sisters that are more precious than the stars, never stop shining, for He is the God who sees you and He sees you shine!

 

Daniel 12:3 (New International Version)

 Those who are wise will shine like the brightness of the heavens, and those who lead many to righteousness, like the stars for ever and ever.

 

Leave a Reply

