Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway:Reservations For Two by Hillary Manton Lodge June 11, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:26 pm
Tags: ,

reservations

About:

A culinary concoction of taking chances and finding love in the most delectable places
 
 
Food writer-turned-restaurateur Juliette D’Alisa has more than enough on her plate. While her trip to Provence might have unlocked new answers to her grandmother’s past, it’s also provided new complications in the form of Neil McLaren, the man she can’t give up.

Juliette and Neil find romance simple as they travel through Provence and Tuscany together, but life back home presents a different set of challenges. Juliette has a restaurant to open, a mother combating serious illness, and a family legacy of secrets to untangle – how does Neil, living so far away in Memphis, fit into to her life?

As she confronts an uncertain future, Juliette can’t help but wish that life could be as straightforward as her chocolate chip cookie recipe. Can her French grandmother’s letters from the 1940’s provide wisdom to guide her present? Or will every new insight create a fresh batch of mysteries? – See more at: http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?work=224003#sthash.kq9fn5aw.dpuf

My thoughts and giveaway:

I really enjoyed the first book in this series. All the yummy food and fun family dynamics. I couldn’t wait to read the second book.

I’m happy to say I enjoyed this one as well. It was fun meeting up with this family again.

The book starts in France and then we go to Italy for a bit as Juliette tries to uncover family secrets and discovers bits and pieces.

Soon we are back in the states and back to reality as Juliette and Neil try to navigate their long distance relationship. The author has painted them into a corner. They both have jobs that are very much set where they live. How could things ever work out? Will they?

At the end of several chapters are recipes of what the characters were eating…yum.

I will say, if I hadn’t read the first book I think I would’ve been bored. I was invested because I knew this family and the characters but I think if I didn’t have the other information I don’t know if I would’ve cared about them that much. With that being said I think you do need to read the first book to truly appreciate this one.

Visit Hillary here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by June 22nd for your chance to win a copy. One winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. residents only. I am not responsible for books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

12 Responses to “Review and Giveaway:Reservations For Two by Hillary Manton Lodge”

  1. D K Stevens Says:

    This book sounds delish! ! I’d love to read it 🙂
    dkstevensne AToutlookDoTCo M

  2. carylkane Says:

    Without reservation, I would love to read this book. 😀

  3. Karen Says:

    I loved the first one and would love to read the 2nd one

  4. Melanie Backus Says:

    This one sounds like a winner to me and I would love to be one too! Thank you for the opportunity!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  5. Definite cover love! and location…
    faithhopecherrytea at [gmail . ] com
    can’t wait to read it [ perfect for paris in july] 🙂
    thx for introducing this one

  6. Melissa B. Says:

    Her grandmother’s letters sound interesting. I’d like to read them and this book.

  7. Merry Says:

    Cooking, romance, travel… this sounds wonderful!

  8. Pam Lunsford Says:

    I would love a chance to read this book. I need to go read the first one.
    pam1lunsford ( at ) gmail ( dot ) com


Leave a Reply

