Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: A Worthy Pursuit by Karen Witemeyer June 18, 2015

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:38 pm
Tags: , ,

worthy pursuit

About:

A teacher on the run. A bounty hunter in pursuit. Can two enemies learn to trust each other before they both lose what they hold most dear?

Stone Hammond is the best tracker in Texas. He never comes home empty-handed. So when a wealthy railroad investor hires him to find his abducted granddaughter, Stone eagerly accepts.

Charlotte Atherton, former headmistress of Sullivan’s Academy for Exceptional Youths, will do anything to keep her charges safe, especially the orphaned girl entrusted to her care. Charlotte promised Lily’s mother she’d keep the girl away from her unscrupulous grandfather, and nothing will stop Charlotte from fulfilling that pledge. Not even the handsome bounty hunter with surprisingly honest eyes who comes looking for them.

When Miss Atherton produces documentation that shows her to be Lily’s legal guardian, Stone must reevaluate everything he’s been led to believe. Is she villain or victim?

Then a new danger forces Charlotte to trust the man sent to destroy her. Stone vows to protect what he once sought to tear apart. Besides, he’s ready to start a new pursuit: winning Charlotte’s heart.

My thoughts and giveaway:

I so enjoy Karen’s book and this newest release just proves why.

So many things to love about this story. For me personally, is that Charlotte is gifted in music and she is a teacher. Right up my alley since I’m a music teacher. Her love her for students extends beyond the classroom which should be true of every teacher.

I loved the role the children played in this book and the different gifts they each had.

Hints are dropped that Charlotte has been hurt in the past but we don’t know why or how, but some healing needs to take place. This is one of the reasons she is so sensitive to her students.

Stone lives up to his name, sort of. Underneath his tough exterior is a softie and we get little glimpses of that early on.

I was immediately drawn into this book and was hard to put down. Karen is a master storyteller using humor and many serious issues to create a wonderful book.

Overall, an excellent read I highly recommend.

Visit Karen here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by June 26nd for your chance to win a copy of the book. Winner will be choosen by random.org. (U.S. addresses only. I am not responsible for books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

25 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: A Worthy Pursuit by Karen Witemeyer”

  1. Aerykah Says:

    Oh, I can’t wait to read this book! I’m sure it’s just as great as all her others. Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

    (Do you need an email address?)

  2. Pam K. Says:

    I’ve read quite a few of Karen’s books and loved them all. Her characters are memorable in stories that have a good blend of action, romance, humor, and faith. I would love to win A Worthy Pursuit so thanks for the giveaway.

  3. sierrafaith327 Says:

    Oh, I’ve been wanting to read this for awhile! I love Karen’s books 😀

  4. This sounds so good and Karen is an amazing author! 🙂

  5. Diane Estrella Says:

    Karen is one of my favorite authors. I have read most of her books and this one looks like another winner!

  6. Loraine N. Says:

    I am looking forward to reading this one. The music teacher aspect is really appealing to me. Thanks for the review and giveaway!

  7. Patty Says:

    I haven’t had the chance to read Karen’s last few books, but love the ones I have read. Love the humor she always includes.

  8. wendynewcomb Says:

    I love Karen’s books, I’m reading “Head in the Clouds” right now on my Kindle and would love to win a copy of “A Worthy Pursuit”! Thank you for hosting this giveaway.

    wfnren at aol dot com

  9. Melody Durant Says:

    I have enjoyed the other books of Karen’s – always wondering how she comes up with these new plots and characters!

  10. Pam Lunsford Says:

    I can’t wait to get or win Karen ‘ s new book. I have enjoyed her books and I am sure this will be a good one too.
    Pam

  11. Bonnie Roof Says:

    I’ve read so many wonderful things about Karen’s book, but haven’t had the opportunity to read one. The covers on her books are always so beautiful and enticing – being a music lover and having worked in a children’s home makes “A Worthy Pursuit” even more enticing to me. Thanks for the giveaway opportunity!!

    bonnieroof60(at)yahoo(dot)com

  12. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson Says:

    Hello Melissa. Thanks for hosting Karen. She has some great books. And, thanks for the giveaway. I too love the covers on her books. That can make me stop and check a book out as to what’s inside. Please put my name in for a chance to win. Thanks to you both.
    Maxie > mac262(at)me(dot)com <

  13. Charis Z. Says:

    Thank you for the chance to win!

  14. Karen’s books are so fun and her characters lively and unsuspecting. Would love to win this new story, A Worthy Pursuit. Thank you for your review, Melissa. Kathleen ~ Lane Hill House lanehillhouse[at]centurylink[dot]net

  15. Terrill Rosado Says:

    I love Karen’s books. On top of a Godly message, they can be funny, also. The cover alone on this book looks fun. I appreciate the honest review, Melissa. Thank you

    tlhcoupon(at)hotmail(dot)com

  16. Random.org chose #2. Thanks all for commenting. I hope you get a chance to read this great book. I will contact Pam shortly 🙂


Leave a Reply

