Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Donna Robinson June 24, 2015

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:05 pm
Tags: ,

SONY DSCToday we get write to the point with Donna Robinson. Read on to learn more about her and her writing journey.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I’ve been married to my wonderful pastor-husband for 36 years. We have four children and eleven grandchildren. We live on the north side of Denver, near the Rocky Mountains—and of course we seldom visit them! My husband and I plan to rectify that by taking a mini-vacation to the mountains at least once this summer.

My journey into writing started when my husband had a friend who was working on a book. I thought, “I’d like to write a book.” That was in 1986, and my first book wasn’t contracted until 2007! It was a long apprenticeship.

 

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

Even though I grew up in a Christian home, I didn’t accept the Lord until I was 15 years old. The Lord scared me with a pain in my chest (I have no idea what that was), but I thought for sure I was going to die, and I knew I wasn’t prepared. I had “professed” to be a Christian, but deep down in my heart, I knew I didn’t “possess” the Lord. In John 6:44, Jesus said, “No man can come to me, except the Father which hath sent me draw him…” I believe the Lord used that pain to draw me to Himself at the age of 15, and that’s when I was saved. Now I’m a pastor’s wife, and I praise God for the journey He’s led me on with my husband, my family, and my writing.

 

Tell us about your latest book. What do you want your readers to take away after the last page?

This book is called The God of All Tomorrows. Here’s the back cover copy:

In 1934, Launi Fairfield goes to the jungles of Peru to translate the Bible into an Indian dialect. She The God of All Tomorrows coverthought missionary work would be exciting, but her days are taken up with the tedious translation project.

 

Miles Stone has been a missionary doctor for ten years. He’s a confirmed bachelor, not wanting to be saddled with a wife and children as he moves around to the different Peruvian tribes. He’s content with his life, until he meets Launi.

 

Together, they end up having more adventure than Launi ever bargained for. They battle snakes, jaguars, sickness, earthquakes, and an Indian chief who wants to add Launi to his harem. Will they trust God for all their tomorrows?

 

The God of All Tomorrows is a heart-stopping adventure story combined with a sweet romance. But more than that, it’s a story about trusting in the Lord, no matter what happens. Launi and Miles have to trust God for their very lives, and I hope my readers will realize they can trust Him for everything and in every situation.

 

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

I had a blog several years ago, and I loved it, but it was taking up too much time. I was blogging instead of writing books. Also, I felt I didn’t have enough readers to make it worthwhile, so I gave it up.

 

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

A series of books that influenced my writing was Robin Jones Gunn’s Glenbrooke series. This was a Christian contemporary romance set of eight books, set in the fictional town of Glenbrooke, Oregon. I loved reading about the new romance in each book, as well as finding out what happened to previous couples. I’m hoping to write my own set of romances in a fictional town. Maybe you’ll see it here someday.

 

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?  

I can’t really think of something or someone that harmed me, but I did have a light-bulb moment where I saw how God’s way was much better than mine, and He meant it for good. As I said before, I had a long apprenticeship in writing books. I eventually had three small books published by Heartsong Presents, and then they closed their book club. I tried to get published by other publishers, and I especially tried to get an agent, but nothing worked out. Other people got agents and book contracts, why couldn’t I? The only thing I could do was keep trying. Then in May 2014 I attended a writing conference, specifically to meet with an agent, hoping she would take me on. Well, we were not a good match, which was discouraging. Later that day, I attended a workshop about self publishing. A whole new world opened up to me! I suddenly realized the Lord didn’t give me an agent or a publisher because He was leading me to publish my own books. I decided to try it as an experiment, and my first eBook was “published” by Amazon in November 2014. Now I have three books out, and I hope to publish two more books in 2015. So during those long discouraging years, God was simply waiting until I was ready to publish on my own, and He intended it for good.

 

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

2 Timothy 1:9 (KJV) — “Who hath saved us, and called us with an holy calling, not according to our works, but according to his own purpose and grace, which was given us in Christ Jesus before the world began.” I use this as my writing verse. The Lord called me to write Christian fiction, and He has His own plan and purpose for calling me to write. I might have dreams and desires for my books, but it’s the Lord’s purposes I want to fulfill to glorify Him.

 

Where can we find you on the web?

My website: www.DonnaRobinsonBooks.com.

Author page at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Donna-Reimel-Robinson/e/B00J43HJKI/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

 

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

Thank you for hosting me on your interesting blog, Melissa. I enjoy reading it.

Thanks for sharing with my readers. I pray God will continue to guide your writing journey.

 

3 Responses to “Write to the Point with Donna Robinson”

  1. Thank you so much, Melissa.

    I wanted to let you know that I’m going to be on the road today. My husband and I are traveling to Texas to visit his parents. But I’ll try to get back here this evening. Have a wonderful day!

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this new to me author, Melissa. Donna, I love stories of missionaries in exotic settings…sooo I hopped on over to Amazon and it’s now on my Kindle! HUGS!

    Diana Flowers~

  3. Diana, that’s so exciting! It sounds like my book is your type of story. Happy reading!


Leave a Reply

