Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Caryl McAdoo (Part 3) July 1, 2015

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:44 pm
Tags: , ,

caryl

Today we get write to the point with Caryl McAdoo. She has visited us before. You can check out her other interviews here and here. Read on to see what she is up to now.

HI Melissa! Great to be here again. Thank you for inviting me!

 

Tell us about your newest book.

 

Well, my ‘newest’ is a non-fiction book I wrote titled Story & Style, The Craft of Writing Creative Fiction. It’s written in a conversational tone and makes the tools of this craft easy to understand with lots of examples. Some of the chapter names are Hooks, Point of View,caryl non Characterization, and Dialogue, and there’s a lot as to using an active voice rather than passive. I count it a part of my payback for all the wonderful mentoring I received as a new writer.

Now my almost newest fiction title is one I’m excited about. A contemporary Red River Romance, third in the series, is my thickest book released yet with 101,000 words (375 pages). One and Done has a fun weather girl heroine, Samantha Danielle, who meets her hero, George Herman Walter Johnson, when the station sends her to Mexico on the rumor that the Texas Rangers are interested in a pitcher playing for the Rojos. She’s the everyday girl today, a little full of herself with a Godless, anything goes attitude. He’s loved the Lord since childhood caryl one and doneand isn’t looking for any one-night-stands; he wants a wife. His tight relationship with his God threatens to end one with Sammi Dan before it even gets started. The Rangers sign him alright, and the unlikely couple is set on an almost fantasy journey finding love on the way to the World Series.

 

What inspired you to write this book?

 

We’ve been a baseball family since having three sons with my one girl. My husband (of 47 years this month!) coached all our boys in little league, and we spent our summers at the ballpark. I’d spread out my three sons, so by the time the last one was old enough not to play little league, our grandson was! So Ron kept coaching and I kept being the Team Mom, and Team Grami, too! With eight grandsons, that meant we didn’t stop until

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

recently. He always coached T-ball, the five and six year olds, staying down for the next grandson as the older ones moved up. He said it was like organizing earthworms, but talk about fun! J      I wrote One and Done for the fun of the game, but in the back of my mind, I’m thinking if I can just get ANY of those boys to read it, they might decide their Mama or Grami can pen a worthwhile story and go on to read the rest! What is it in scripture about a prophet having no honor in his hometown?

 

What was your favorite part to write?

 

The games were the most fun. My husband, also a writer, helped a LOT with all the lingo and baseball terms. One man at my writers workshop couldn’t believe I had it so right on! J Of course, I also loved Sammi Dan’s growth and the romance part. G.H. is the kind of man every girl surely dreams of. He’s a lot like my husband.

 

 

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

What was the hardest part to write?

 

Right back to the games for me…while I hollered the loudest at the ballpark cheering on my little Bulldogs, the Major League was never as much fun of non-stop action! So keeping those games exciting—leaving out all the boring part of a real game—didn’t come easy.

 

 

What kind of research did you do for this book?

 

Well, a little, but my Dearest knows more than most people have forgotten about the game and was my go-to-man on all the management and intricacies of America’s game! Sure made my life a lot easier have my own personal walking research man!

 

 

What’s the best thing about being an author?

 

Being able to reach so many and touch their hearts with a bit of God’s love. I pray my stories will cause them to remember a Truth they already knew or introduce them to one they hadn’t thought of. L love to hear that something I wrote sent them to the Word to check something out. I’m so blessed that God called me to His purpose and gave me this awesome outlet to share his Good News with the whole world in an entertaining manner!

 

 

What’s the hardest thing about being an author?

 

Staying organized! I keep trying to implement new SOP to keep me in line – my latest being colored, pocketed file folders to keep “piles” assimilated J I’m sure attempting to launch eleven titles in 2015 has a lot to do with feeling behind all the time J

 

 

What’s one piece of advice you have for aspiring writers?

 

Get into a great read-and-critique group, not a slap shop but one where the other writers almost make you feel bad telling you so much is wrong. Toughen up and keep going, listen and learn. If the people only tell you always, good read, I liked this or that, go find another one J Iron sharpens iron! (I started to say Get my new Story & Style, The Craft of Writing Creative Fiction book! I believe it will help writers in almost any stage. Why, it’s already helped me! J)

 

 

If you were writing about your life what would the title be?

 

Lady Who Loved the Lord

 

 

Anything you would like add?

 

A great big THANK YOU, Melissa. God bless you a hundred fold as you’ve blessed me! J

Thanks so much for stopping by again, Caryl. It’s great to hear what you are up to:)

 

Leave a Reply

