Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: The Innocent by Ann H. Gabhart July 7, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:49 pm
Tags: , ,

the innocent

About:

She longs for peace–for her land and her heart–but can it truly be found at Harmony Hill?

Carlyn Kearney has spent two lonely years not knowing whether to mourn or to hope after she receives word from the Union Army that her husband is missing. When the war ends without further word, Carlyn finds herself penniless, in debt, and forced from her home. With nowhere else to go, she seeks refuge at the Shaker village of Harmony Hill.

The Shakers profess peace through simple living, but to Carlyn, the Shaker life seems anything but simple. When mysterious deaths disturb the peace of the village, Carlyn falls under intense scrutiny. Can a kind sheriff help her expose the true culprit?

Bestselling author Ann H. Gabhart invites fans back to Harmony Hill for a story laced with intrigue, romance, and heart.

The Innocent is another well-crafted tale from the pen of Ann H. Gabhart. With characters that will steal your heart, Gabhart introduces a desperate young heroine who seeks safety among the Shakers during the post-Civil War era and a sheriff determined to come to her aid. A rich and rewarding read you won’t want to miss!”Judith Miller, award-winning author of Refined by Love series

My thoughts and giveaway:

Ann has a wonderful way of weaving a story together. Her newest book holds true to that.

In this new release we get an inside look into the Shaker community. I, for one, had a lot of ideas about the faith that were way off so I got a little education while I read.

Carlyn is a woman with an uncertain future. She holds onto the hope that her husband is still alive but after two years it’s a thin thread of hope.

Mitchell is a strong hero with hurts of his own from the past. He is instantly likable.

There are other characters who help round out the story as well. A couple of mysteries along the way will keep you reading: deaths in the Shaker village and the unanswered question of Carlyn’s husband.

I think fans of Ann will be pleased with this newest release.

Visit Ann here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by 16th for your chance go win a copy. Winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. residents only. I am not responsible for books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

10 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: The Innocent by Ann H. Gabhart”

  1. I have read and loved all of Ann’s Shaker books and am chomping at the bit to devour this one! I’m so glad she decided to write another one. Thank you, Melissa, for the great review and giveaway opportunity!

    • Since all blogs seem to be different, I wasn’t sure if I needed to leave my email in my comment as well so just in case it’s:
      dianalflowers(at)aol(dot)com

    • Hi Diana, thanks for commenting. This is the first Shaker book I have read by her, I guess I need to pick up some more.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      • Hi again, Melissa. The 1st one was The Outsider and she has written five all total if I’m not mistaken. They can all be read as stand alones, however, and are very fascinating!

  2. D K Stevens Says:

    I’d enjoy an inside look into the Shaker community. It sounds like one I’d like 🙂
    dkstevensne AToutlookdOTcOM

  3. Bonnie Roof Says:

    Thanks for the review and giveaway opportunity, Melissa!! I have a couple of Ann’s other Shaker novels and would love to have this one also. Pleasant Hill Shaker Village (on which her Shaker novels are based) is only 1 1/2 hours from me – I love to visit there. I’ve eaten there numerous times, toured the village, and spent the night in the inn. Their food is delicious and their craftsmanship excellent. It is a live demonstration village and a place everyone can enjoy, including children. There are frequent special events and a store with their crafts for purchase.

    bonnieroof60(at)yahoo(dot)com

  4. I am recent convert to Amish fiction and have loved it so much. Although I have heard of the Shaker community, I haven’t read or know much about them. I like the idea of learning more about them, but through a Christian romance.


Leave a Reply

