Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: To Capture Her Heart by Rebecca DeMarino July 20, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 5:14 pm
Tags: , ,

to capture her heart

About:

In an uncertain time, she faces a choice that will change her life forever

It is 1653 and Heather Flower, a princess of the Montaukett tribe, is celebrating her wedding feast when a rival tribe attacks, killing the groom and kidnapping her. Though her ransom is paid by an Englishman, she is bound by her captors and left to die–until she finds herself rescued by handsome Dutch Lieutenant Dirk Van Buren.

Still tender from her loss, Heather Flower begins to heal in the home of the Hortons, English friends of her people. Torn between her affection for Dirk and her longtime friendship with Ben Horton, Heather Flower must make a difficult choice–stay true to her friend or follow her heart.

Exploring a unique slice of history, Rebecca DeMarino transports you to the wild land that would eventually become Long Island, New York.

My thoughts and giveaway:

This is the second book in the Southold Chronicles. It picks up a few years after the previous book with Ben Horton (who was just a boy when I finished that first book) is now a man looking for love.

I loved seeing this next generation of Hortons and how they are making a life in the new world. More than anything I probably loved the history again and thinking about people who came over from Europe and what they went through to settle here.

The book opens with Heather Flower being rescued and we are quickly thrown into the lives of all the characters. Heather Flower is a sweet (pun intended) young woman who is hurt badly emotionally and doesn’t know what to do next. Her heart wants to grieve her dead husband and the missing woman who were taken with her but her heart is also being pulled in other directions.

Dirk seems to fall for Heather Flower pretty fast. I was a bit surprised when he thinks he loves her after only meeting her a couple of brief times. It seemed a little to fast for me but that’s my opinion only.

You can read this book without reading the first but there are a lot of different characters and even I had trouble keeping them straight all of the time. I think if you read A Place In His Heart first you will better appreciate this one.

Overall, I think historical romance readers will enjoy this one, especially with the unexpected ending 🙂

Come back Wednesday when I interview Rebecca and she talks about this book.

Visit Rebecca here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by July 27th for your chance to win a copy. One winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. addresses only. I am not responsible for replacing books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

10 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: To Capture Her Heart by Rebecca DeMarino”

  1. carylkane Says:

    I am so glad you are a part of the launch tour! I can’t wait to read this one.

  2. Lisa Brown Says:

    It looks great. I hope to get a chance to read it; thanks for the chance 🙂
    jslbrown2009 at aol dot com

  3. Patty Says:

    I’ve been looking forward to reading this series! Thanks for the review and giveaway.

  4. lib1lady Says:

    Thanks for giving me the opportunity to win this book.

  5. mmaryjoj Says:

    I love the hero on this cover. I hope he lives up to the story!

  6. […] you want to check out my review of her book click here. You will also find links to Rebecca’s website and where you can purchase her […]

  7. Melanie Backus Says:

    Great cover and sounds like a great book!

  8. Terrill Rosado Says:

    Beautiful book covers and I am sure will they will be just as beautiful to read.

  9. I can’t wait to read this book. The series looks great and the cover is beautiful

    Deanne
    Cnnamongirl at aol dot com

  10. The winner of the book is Melanie. I will be emailing her shortly. Thanks to everyone who commented.


Leave a Reply

