Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Rebecca DeMarino (and giveaway) July 22, 2015

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:55 pm
Tags: ,

Demarino-291-200x300Rebecca DeMarino writes love, legends and lore as a historical romance author and lives in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. She inherited her love of baking and gardening from her mother, a love of horses, reading and writing from her dad, and the wanderlust gene from both parents. Her travels have taken her from Alaska to Nebraska and Florida, from Long Island to England and Italy, and from Washington DC to Texas, California and Guam. But usually you can find her at home, enjoying her grandchildren and baking crisp little ginger cakes. From Publisher’s Weekly ~ DeMarino’s … strong suit is recreating history and relating it to readers.

Tell us about your newest book.

I’d love to! In 1653 Heather Flower, a princess of the Montauk tribe, celebrates her wedding feast when a rival tribe attacks, kills the groom and kidnaps her. Though her ransom is paid, she is nonetheless bound by her captors and left to die—until she finds herself rescued by handsome Dutch Lieutenant Dirk Van Buren.

Still tender from her loss, Heather Flower begins to heal in the home of Englishman Ben Horton, a longtime friend of her people. But despite Ben’s affectionate attentions, she can’t stop thinking about the handsome Dutchman who saved her from certain death. Can she find peace again among her own people? Or will her growing affection for her rescuer draw her into conflict with everyone she loves? Does she choose loyalty or love?

What do you do when you’re not writing?

I love to travel, I like exploring genealogy and my roots, and gardening, hiking and baking are all to capture her heartpastimes I enjoy.

Where do you get your ideas?

The Southold Chronicle Series is based on the real lives of my ninth great-grandparents. They came over on a little ship called The Swallow in the 1630’s. My plan for the series was to take each book about the Hortons up a decade or two. While researching the first book, A Place in His Heart, I discovered a gold nugget of information about Heather Flower, the daughter of the Montuakett sachem, who was kidnapped on her wedding day by a fierce rival tribe. Tradition has it that the Englishman, Lion Gardiner, paid her ransom. The story was too good to ignore and it fit perfectly for the time period for book #2, so the story picks up after the ransom is paid. The Hortons and Southold are still the backdrop for the story, but Heather Flower is my lovely heroine.

Do you outline or are you a seat-of-the-pants writer?

I am definitely a seat-of-the-pants writer! I’ve tried to jot things down, even loosely, but I find that I write best if I brainstorm my way through the story!

Have you written a book you love that you have not been able to get published?

Well, I can truly say no, and I realize that is not the norm. A Place in His Heart was not only my first published novel, but the first book I’d ever written. It is truly the book of my heart, and book #2, To Capture Her Heart, was just plain fun to research and write! I love that story!!

Are you like any of the characters in your book?

There might be little pieces of me in all of my characters. Heather Flower’s happily-ever-after is snatched from her when she least expects it and she has many decisions to make, none of them easy. Like her – and most of us – I have had dreams dashed and losses to bear. But thank goodness we have a God who cares and will walk with us through it.

Are you working on a new project now?

I am working on the edits for the third book in the series, To Follow Her Heart. This story amazed me as I brainstormed through it! It’s Patience’s story and I love it!

Anything you would like to add?

Thank you so very much, Melissa, for featuring me today! I love your heart for helping readers connect with books and their authors! You are a blessing to me!

Thanks so much for visiting with us again, it’s great to hear what you are up to 🙂 

Readers, below is a link to a giveaway Rebecca’s publisher is holding. If you click on it you will be redirected to another page to enter that giveaway.

To Capture Her Heart Book Launch

If you want to check out my review of her book click here. You will also find links to Rebecca’s website and where you can purchase her book.

 

Leave a Reply

