Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: The Lightkeeper’s Daughter by Colleen Coble July 27, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 7:36 pm
Tags: , ,

book-lightkeepers-daughter-featured

About:

With the lies of the past behind her, Addie finds love . . . and discovers her true Father.

Addie Sullivan leads a quiet life in a northern California lighthouse. She mourns the death of her father and endures her mother’s bitterness, until the night a storm brings an injured stranger and a dark secret to her home. The man insists she is not who she thinks she is, but rather “Julia Eaton”β€”the child long lost and feared dead by her wealthy family. Seizing the chance to be reunited with the Eatons, Addie leaves her lighthouse home but decides to keep her true identity a secret until they can unravel the mystery. Addie loves the Eatons’ palatial home tucked away among the California redwood forests. She feels secure with the jovial family, adores the young boy who is her charge as governess, and finds romance with his father John, a young widower. But sinister shadows overtake Addie’s joy. As dusty rooms and secret compartments give up their clues about her past, Addie finds a faith and a love she could never have guessed. To embrace this new world of promise is to risk her life; but to run away is to risk losing the greatest love she’s ever known.

My thoughts and giveaway:

Believe it or not this is the first book I have read by Colleen. I’ve heard wonderful things about her books but never got around to reading her work. Now I am wishing I didn’t wait so long. This is a book I purchased a long time ago and finally got the chance to read.

This book has it all; romance, mystery, deception. I had no idea who was out to hurt Addie until it came to light. Even better there is a revelation at the end that totally caught me by surprise and that rarely happens.

Addie is a wonderful character that might be a bit too perfect. Yet, she does face her own issues. She is definitely a people-pleaser and this is something I have dealt with personally. As she gets drawn more into her new family her eyes move away from Jesus and this is something she has to face.

One of my favorite characters in this book had to be Gideon the dog. He reminded me a lot of my dog. He was so obedient and there to protect those he loved.

This is a book a definitely recommend. If you haven’t read this book or anything by Colleen this is a great one to start with.

Visit Colleen here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by August 3rd for your chance to win a copy. Winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. addresses only. I am not responsible for books lost or damaged in the mail.)

 

 

13 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: The Lightkeeper’s Daughter by Colleen Coble”

  1. D K Stevens Says:

    I enjoyed reading your thoughts on this book! I think I need to read this one πŸ˜‰
    dkstevensNE AToutlookDoTc OM

  2. I own four of Colleen Coble’s books, but haven’t yet read them. Thank you for the incentive to do so. I know I will be kicking myself that I hadn’t started them earlier, as well.

  3. OH OH OH!!! I’ve been wanting to read this series for SO LONG NOW! πŸ˜€ Thank you for giving a copy of the first one away! It sounds SO good and I know Colleen Coble is a phenomenal author!!!!

    Many Blessings, Amada (a.m.a.th.a)

  4. I have read some of Colleen’s books and loved them all ! This book and all in the series are in to be read list ! Thank you for giving a copy away, I can’t wait to read this !

    Deanne Patterson
    Cnnamongirl at aol dot com

  5. Maxie is having trouble leaving a comment so this is her entry.

  6. Maryann Says:

    This sounds like a great book I would love to read, perfect for summer reading. My great grandmothers name was Addie. I never met her but have a picture of her.

  7. Beth C Says:

    I haven’t read anything by Colleen yet. She sounds like she is an author I would love! Thanks!!

  8. Melanie Backus Says:

    Oh how I would love to read this one! Colleen Coble is a great writer! Thank you for the opportunity!


Leave a Reply

