Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: The War Room by Chris Fabry August 3, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:04 pm
Tags: , ,

the war room

About:

Juggling motherhood and her job as a real-estate agent, Elizabeth Jordan wishes her husband could help more around the house. But Tony’s rising career as a pharmaceutical salesman demands more and more of his time. With a nice home in the suburbs and a lovely young daughter, they appear to have it all—yet they can’t seem to spend time together without fighting.

Hoping for a new listing, Elizabeth visits the home of Clara Williams, an elderly widow, and is both amused and uncomfortable when Clara starts asking pointed questions about her marriage and faith. But it’s Clara’s secret prayer room, with its walls covered in requests and answers, that has Elizabeth most intrigued . . . even if she’s not ready to take Clara’s suggestion that she create a prayer room of her own. As tensions at home escalate, though, Elizabeth begins to realize that her family is worth fighting for, and she can’t win this battle on her own. Stepping out in blind faith, putting her prayers for her family and their future in God’s hands, might be her only chance at regaining the life she was meant for.

My thoughts and giveaway:

This book is changing my life. I don’t say that about a lot of fiction books but this one opened to my eyes to an area I have been weak in: prayer.

This book portrays realistically the way a marriage can crumble, the way a woman can place all the blame on her husband and not see her own part in it, the temptations a man can face, the wounds of a young daughter.

As someone who has walked through pain in their marriage and healing I can tell you they way the healing is shown is true. It might be a bit faster because it is a book but it isn’t instant. There is anger below the surface from betrayal and Chris showed that.

Miss Clara is wonderful character, someone we all need in our lives who spurs us on and is honest with us. The book holds true to the fact that God doesn’t always answer when we want or how we want but He is always listening.

This is an excellent book and I can’t wait to see the movie that will be coming out August 28th.

Visit Chris here.

Watch the trailer for the movie here. (I get emotional every time I see this)

Here’s another video I found about the movie I thought you might find interesting, click here.

Grab your copy at your local book store, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, B00ks-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by August 10th for your chance to win a copy. One winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. addresses only. I am not responsible for books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

23 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: The War Room by Chris Fabry”

  1. carylkane Says:

    I would LOVE to have this book! I am so excited about the movie.

  2. Karen Spiegel Says:

    Boy, do I need this book!!! My marriage is not what I wish it were and my prayer life has gotten really, really weak. Please draw my name!!!

  3. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson Says:

    Thanks Melissa for review with Chris. Bet the book and movie will be good. Sounds like it. Sure hope I can see the movie. I usually have to miss them.Hope it’s a big success. Maxie > mac262(at)me(dot)com <

  4. D K Stevens Says:

    I would love to share this with my family! ! Great post 🙂
    dkstevensneAT outlookD otCoM

  5. tlrosado Says:

    Amazing trailer. It made me emotional, too. Thank you for sharing this.

    tlhcoupon (at) hotmail (dot) com

  6. […] The War Room by Chris Fabry ends August 10 […]

  7. Mia Says:

    really would love to read the book before i see the movie. thanks . saw this giveaway on the vessel project website. here is my email jazzymom1220 (at) gmail (dot) com

  8. Susan Daggett Says:

    Sounds good, can’t wait!

  9. Marilyn McKinley Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful book. I had heard of it but had no idea what it was about…..it reminds me of a dear friend who has a prayer closet. Great idea. If I do not win, I will have to check it out on Kindle.

    • Marilyn-Yes, this is a must read for anyone who wants to be challenged in their prayer life. They are releasing a bunch of prayer books to go along with the fiction book. I will be reviewing those in the future.

  10. Melanie Backus Says:

    I am intrigued by this one! Thank you for the opportunity!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  11. Van B Says:

    Saw this giveaway at the vesselproject.com website! I would love to win a copy!

  12. Martha Sturm Says:

    The movie is not scheduled to come to our town. I am working on getting 25 or more people to buy tickets ahead of time, and that will bring the movie here.


Leave a Reply

