Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Not Our Plans-Lessons for the Upper Peninsula Part 2 August 7, 2015

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:00 pm
Tags: , , ,
Miners Falls

Miners Falls

Last week I shared about our hike to pictured rocks. That was the first day of our trip. On the second day we had planned to go to Grand Island. It’s an island off the shore of Munising, MI. Patrick read up on it and we could take our bikes over and ride them around the island and get new views of pictured rocks.

We loaded up our bikes on July 4th and took the hour drive to Munising (everything is an hour away from everything else in the U.P.). We were cutting it close on time so I went to get the tickets while Patrick and the kids unloaded the bikes.

When I got up the booth the lady told me the last pick up from the island was one o’clock due to the holiday. Oh man. This island is big and we had no idea what to expect and it was almost ten. Could we see what we wanted to in less than three hours? We decided not to go that day.

We were all bummed. We drove an hour to do nothing. I got a little grumpy 🙂 Our plans were

Miners Beach

Miners Beach

gone. Now what?

From the back seat my daughter says, “Aren’t there a lot of waterfalls around here? Why do we see those?”

Yes! We loved the idea, why didn’t we think of that?

We set off on one of our best days in the U.P. Because our plans were interrupted we got to see things we otherwise probably wouldn’t have bothered to see. More of God’s beautiful creation and hidden treasures in this part of Michigan.

I’m sure you see where I’m going with this.

Munising Falls and Kids

Munising Falls and Kids

How many times do we make plans for our lives and they get interrupted? Many. It’s probably a good thing too, because God has a tendency to know what He is doing.

At first we might be angry, disappointed, grumpy. But as His plans unfold we see what we otherwise would’ve missed. We get the opportunity to see Him and not us. His ways are always better than ours, even if they don’t make sense at first.

I don’t know where you’re at, maybe you’re busy making plans, maybe your plans just got tossed

Crisp Point Lighthouse

Crisp Point Lighthouse

out, and maybe you’re in the middle of His plan and question how this could be the best for  you? All I can say is trust Him, He does know what He’s doing.

Oh, and in case you’re looking for a post about Grand Island you won’t find one. I’m still waiting for God to reveal a lesson for that adventure. That was a one time trip for my family…mosquitoes as big as Buicks (not really but it was crazy!!!).

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:8-9 NIV

 

2 Responses to “Not Our Plans-Lessons for the Upper Peninsula Part 2”

  1. Heather Says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this. What a great reminder that God has bigger & better plans than we do. This totally speaks to me about my work situation. God knew exactly what I needed to hear/read today. Thanks for allowing God to use you & this blog😊

  2. Judy Says:

    Thank you for the reminder. I’ve lost track of the number of times I’ve made plans, and God changed them. One of my favorite quotes is “If you want to make God laugh, tell Him your plans.” I’ve made God laugh, a lot. 😉


Leave a Reply

