Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Luther and Katharina by Jody Hedlund August 24, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 3:58 pm
Tags: ,

luther and katrina

 

About:

She was a nun of noble birth. He, a heretic, a reformer…an outlaw of the Holy Roman Empire.

In the 16th century, nun Katharina von Bora’s fate fell no further than the Abbey. Until she read the writings of Martin Luther.

His sweeping Catholic church reformation—condemning a cloistered life and promoting the goodness of marriage—awakened her desire for everything she’d been forbidden. Including Martin Luther himself.

Despite the fact that the attraction and tension between them is undeniable, Luther holds fast to his convictions and remains isolated, refusing to risk anyone’s life but his own. And Katharina longs for love, but is strong-willed. She clings proudly to her class distinction, pining for nobility over the heart of a reformer. They couldn’t be more different.

But as the world comes tumbling down around them, and with Luther’s threatened life a constant strain, these unlikely allies forge an unexpected bond of understanding, support and love.

Together, they will alter the religious landscape forever.

My thoughts:

I’m not even sure where to begin.

I am a fan of Jody’s, I love her historical romances. When I saw this book up for review I was a little surprised to see Jody’s name on it. This just didn’t seem like something she would write, a book about Marin Luther, the leader of the Reformation.

I also wondered how interesting you could make a love story about him? But I figured if anyone could do it, it would be Jody Hedlund. And I was right.

Wow. There is never a dull moment in this book. The interesting part is that a lot of the persecution written about actually took place. I couldn’t believe what these reformers had to endure and the fine line Martin had to walk between the peasants and princes. So much violence.

The thing is as I was reading this I thought I can see some of this coming back. If the Church stands by the Bible (as we should) we are and will face persecution in the days ahead.

The romance between Martin and Katharina was intense. They are both stubborn and passionate people. Once again, Jody depicted their love so well your heart will ache for them.

I will caution readers that some of the romance was intense and if that is a an area you need to be careful with then just be forewarned. Nothing in appropriate, I just know the areas I struggle with which is why I don’t read secular romance and many Christians won’t read Christian romance for the same reason.

But for me I loved this book. Jody is a master storyteller and created a very believable story world.

Visit Jody here. 

For more info. click here.

Click here for Jody’s bio.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

 

Leave a Reply

