Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Bathsheba by Angela Hunt September 7, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:51 pm
Tags: , , ,

 

bathsheba

 

About:

A Vivid and Moving Portrait of a Reluctant Queen

After sending his army to besiege another king’s capital, King David forces himself on Bathsheba, a loyal soldier’s wife. When her resulting pregnancy forces the king to murder her husband and add her to his harem, Bathsheba struggles to protect her son while dealing with the effects of a dark prophecy and deadly curse on the king’s household.

Combining historical facts with detailed fiction, Angela Hunt paints a realistic portrait of the beautiful woman who struggled to survive the dire results of divine judgment on a king with a divided heart.

My thoughts:

The story of Bathsheba and David has always fascinated me. Maybe due to my own past and the knowledge that David did these horrible things yet God says he is a man after His own heart.

I’ve never given a lot of thought to how Bathsheba might have felt. I didn’t want to think of King David as raping her. I have to admit I didn’t like reading how selfish David was in taking Bathsheba, giving no thought to her or her husband but taking what he wanted. Of course, this is one authors interpretation of the events but in reality, it’s very likely Bathsheba was forced and wouldn’t dare say no to the King.

I never thought about how Bathsheba might have really loved her husband and the heartbreak that would follow his death.

The author made me think of all of these things and much more.

The book covers much more than the encounter between David and Bathsheba. It also weaves in the curse on David’s family after this sin and how it impacted his kingdom. I loved being reminded of these other events, it made me want to crack open my Bible and refresh my memory.

I really enjoyed the take on this story and how the author handled the situation and the overall love that can come from even horrible things. I also loved how Bathsheba was reminded of her past many times throughout her life but believed God can redeem all things. So true 🙂

Visit Angela here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

A e-copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

 

Leave a Reply

