Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: The Mistress of Tall Acre by Laura Frantz September 14, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:43 am
Tags: ,

the mistress

About:

There can be only one mistress of Tall Acre . . .

The American Revolution is finally over, and Sophie Menzies is starved for good news. When her nearest neighbor, General Seamus Ogilvy, finally comes home to Tall Acre, she hopes it is a sign of better days to come. But the general is now a widower with a small daughter in desperate need of a mother. Nearly destitute, Sophie agrees to marry Seamus and become the mistress of Tall Acre in what seems a safe, sensible arrangement. But when a woman from the general’s past returns without warning, the ties that bind this fledgling family together will be strained to the utmost. When all is said and done, who will be the rightful mistress of Tall Acre?

Triumph and tragedy, loyalty and betrayal–you will find it all in the rich pages of this newest novel from the talented pen of Laura Frantz.

My thoughts and giveaway:

Okay, I have never read anything by Laura before but I have heard great things about her. When I first started this book I wasn’t feeling it and I don’t know why. But around page one hundred I realized I was hooked and couldn’t wait to get back to the story.

This book is so wonderfully written. I can’t even put my finger on what exactly made it so good. The story is engaging, the characters very likeable, especially sweet Lily Cate.

I think the dialogue surprised me most of all. The things the characters said sometimes was so raw my heart ached and I loved that they had the courage to say it!

With each chapter the tension and questions get upped until you are left wondering how things could ever work out.

Laura Frantz is definitely a talented author and I can’t wait to read more of her work.

Visit Laura here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million, Deeper Shopping or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by Sept. 21st  for your chance to win a copy of this book. One winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. addresses only. I am not responsible for books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to my by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

 

22 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: The Mistress of Tall Acre by Laura Frantz”

  1. Loraine N. Says:

    I just recently read Laura’s Ballantyne Legacy series and it was really good. Laura is a very talented writer. I am looking forward to reading this one too. Thanks for the review and giveaway!

  2. Judy Says:

    Not many authors tackle the Revolutionary War. This looks intriguing.

  3. Karen Hadley Says:

    I am looking forward to reading this book, I’ve read the first two books in the Ballantyne Legacy and thoroughly enjoyed them.
    Thank You!

  4. carylkane Says:

    I am so excited for the release of The Mistress of Tall Acre! Thanks for the great review!

  5. Janella Says:

    She is a very talented author and gifted story teller. Thanks for the review and giveaway! The book sounds great.

  6. D K Stevens Says:

    After reading your thoughts.. I need to read this one too!
    dkstevensneAToutlookD OtCoM

  7. agboss777 Says:

    I have not read any of Laura Frantz’s books, but a friend just recently highly recommended her. This book sounds so intriguing! I am excited to read it. Thanks for the review & the opportunity of this giveaway!

  8. Kelly Says:

    I can’t wait to read Laura’s new novel. I loved the Ballantyne series!

  9. I love historical fiction. I’d love to read this book.

  10. Heather Olsen Says:

    I love Laura Frantz’s book. My favorite so far is The Colonel’s Lady. I look forward to reading this new one.

  11. Pam K. Says:

    Laura’s books always look so good but I’m behind on reading them. Maybe I should just have a “Laura Frantz month” and read all her books. I have read The Colonel’s Lady so if the others are as good as that one, they are excellent. Thanks for giving away The Mistress of Tall Acre. I’d certainly love to win!

  12. Mallory Reynolds Says:

    Sounds like a great book. I’m a big fan of historical fiction. Thanks for the chance to win.

  13. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson Says:

    I always here Laura is one of the best.. I haven’t read any of her books yet but would love to win this one. Thanks for a chance to do so. Maxie

  14. Vicki G Says:

    Definitely one I want to read! 🙂

  15. pattymh2000 Says:

    You certainly should pick up some of her other books if you run across them! I have enjoyed each one I have read.

  16. I haven’t had a chance to reply to all the comments, but there are obviously a lot of Laura Frantz fans out there. Thanks so much for all the comments 🙂

  17. Lis K Says:

    She is such a great writer—so poetic, lyrical, maybe? I loved The Colonel’s Lady and Love’s Reckoning although I have read all of her books. This one looks great as well, thanks for the giveaway!
    garfsgirl AT hotmail DOT com

  18. Merry Says:

    I love reading historicals. This sounds like a great book and Laura is a new author to me.

  19. Merry Z Says:

    I loved Laura’s book The Colonel’s Lady and can’t wait to read this one!

  20. Wow is all I can say. Laura Frantz really knows how to write a book. I can tell she really researches before she writes. Ibabsolutelyblove herbhistotical fiction books and I hope to read this soon.
    Deanne
    Book1lovingmomma at gmail dot com

  21. lib1lady Says:

    Our Church Library Reader’s Love Books By Laura Frantz. Thanks for giving me the chance to win a book for the library.

  22. Thank you for your honest review. I appreciate hearing about when the story picked up for you (page 100.) I know reading is subjective, but if for any reason, like you, I don’t feel a quick connection to this book, I just need to invest more time.


Leave a Reply

