Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Caryl McAdoo (Part 5) September 16, 2015

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:38 am
Tags: ,

atTablePM (1)Today we get write to the point with Caryl McAdoo for the fifth (but not final) time. Read on to see what she is up to and how you can win a copy of her book.

Thank you so much for the opportunity to visit Genesis 5020 again, Melissa! 

You’ve just released book five in your historical Texas Romance series, and book one, Vow Unbroken only launched eighteen months ago. That’s a release in the series every three to four months. How exactly are you doing that? Would you like to tell us about it?

 

Of course, I’m just thrilled to! And the answer is pretty easy, too. Simon and Schuster took about eighteen months from contract to shelves on VOW UNBROKEN, and I kept writing the whole time. When it debuted in March 2014, I already had book two HEARTS STOLEN completed and book three HOPE REBORN well on its way.

Now the farther along I get, they’re catching up with me more, and I have to write faster to meet my self-imposed deadlines. I try to release one every four months, three a year. It just so happens, I wrote ‘The End’ today on JUST KIN, book six! It’s scheduled to release in January 2016. I’ll start book seven, AT LIBERTY TO LOVE, pretty soon though I don’t need it until March for a May release.

How are you getting so many stories for the series?

Well, book five, DAUGHTERS OF THE HEART, is the second story of the ‘next generation’. The story started with book one in01 Front - Daughters 1832 with Sue and Henry. Book four SINS OF THE MOTHERS was the first book with a heroine who was their daughter—the oldest, Mary Rachel. She defiantly eloped and carved out a hard life for herself, breaking her daddy’s heart.

So the next three daughters made a pact to obey him no matter what, and this became the theme of book five.

His stubbornness of course tests their promise—especially once suitors started showing up asking permission to court Gwendolyn, the oldest still at home at eighteen and Cecelia, seventeen and not yet old enough to court per Daddy’s strict rules. The youngest sister Bonnie, twelve going on twenty, is smitten as well and just as ready to be courted in her estimation.

The story is filled with laughs and loves and misguidings, and heartbreak. And it’s a wonderful read for teen readers since it’s so squeaky clean.

I know you’re on track to release eleven new titles this year. How many are you planning for 2016?

   I’ve already mentioned two of the three historicals planned for 2015, JUST KIN coming in January and May’s AT LIBERTY TO LOVE. In September 2016, THE BEDWARMER’S SON will debut. It has two parallel storylines running, one in the 1860s and the other in 1929, and the Buckmeyers may not be in this one, though a few Nightingales will be. I want to introduce a few new characters who will show up in 1950 when the series culminates with THE CHIEF OF SINNER…or maybe not. After all, the Viet Nam era is considered historical now. Imagine that.J

What inspired you to write Daughters of the Heart, Caryl? 

I just have to say the Lord. He’s been so faithful and blessed me with these wonderful stories. There are three books of the first generation, I figured three of the next generation was appropriate, and I wanted at least one of those to be Charley’s (the four-year-old in book two) because the readers loved him as much as I did. So between Mary Rachel’s and his, I needed to work in the three other girls.

Bonnie may still get another book to find her true love in, but this and Charley’s will be three of that generation and get us up to the Civil War period. I’m might write a couple of stories without all the family members to introduce some more of the characters who will show up in THE CHIEF OF SINNERS. Hope that wasn’t all confusing.

But as with any plans I make, they are all subject to God’s will. I’ll follow where He leads!

  How does this story differ from the others?

 DAUGHTERS is very different in that I have two heroines. It’s the biggest family story yet. There’s no traveling in it as in the first four books—well just a little, but ninety-five percent takes place at home in the Buckmeyers’ house. Another difference is that no one gets saved in this story as all the others. There’s one rededication of sorts, but everyone in this book are Christians. This one also includes a little politics of the time, too.

What kind of research did you do for this book?

 Each one of the books requires research to keep up with the history of that, or those, particular years. But with this one, being mostly at home, it didn’t take quite as much.

What’s one piece of advice you have for aspiring writers?

   Well, before, I always said find a good read and critique group to be active in. While I still believe that’s important, I now would highly recommend that they get the title I released in June 😉 STORY & STYLE, The Craft of Writing Creative Fiction. It’s a little book packed with ways to avoid all the mistakes new writers make.

Its friendly conversational format and all its examples help beginners to understand point of view and the difference between passive and active voice. I took the time to write what I’d learned to help other writers, and I definitely believe it will! It’s hasn’t jumped out there and sold a hundred, but I’ve had a couple of great five-star reviews that thrill my heart. J

 I want to thank you for visiting at Genesis 5020 and you’ll be back next month, right?

 It’s always my pleasure to get by here! And I’d like to offer a free copy of DAUGHTERS OF THE HEART to your visitors. I’ll put in an entry for commenting here, another for Liking my Facebook page (I’m on my way to 1000!), and a third for tweeting(copy and paste) this:  #NewRelease  Historical Romance, Texas, 1853 http://www.amazon.com/dp/1512273791 5-Star #ChristianFiction Great for teens and YA, too! @CarylMcAdoo

BIO:

Award winning, bestselling author Caryl McAdoo currently writes four series: the historical Christian ‘Texas Romance’; a contemporary ‘Red River Romance’; The Generations, her Biblical fiction and a mid-grade The King’s Highway. The prolific novelist loves singing new songs the Lord gives her and painting. In 2008, she and her high school sweetheart-husband Ron moved from the DFW area—home for fifty+ years—to the woods of Red River County. Caryl counts four children and sixteen grandsugars life’s biggest blessings believing all good things come from God. Praying her story gives God glory, she hopes each one will also minister His love, mercy, and grace to its readers. Caryl and Ron live in Clarksville, the county seat, in the far northeast corner of the Lone Star State with two grandsons, Christian and Benjamen.

 

LINKS:

All Books   –        http://tinyurl.com/CarylsAmazonPage

PRE-ORDER Daughtershttp://www.amazon.com/Daughters-Heart-Texas-Romance-Book-ebook/dp/B012EBN35G

Website       –        http://www.CarylMcAdoo.com

(All First Chapters are offered here)

Newsletter –        http://carylmcadoo.com/sign-up-to-the-caryler/

(Get FREE books for subscribing!)

Reviewer?   –        http://carylmcadoo.com/christian-evaluaters/

                                     (Join Caryl’s Street Team!)

Facebook    –        http://www.facebook.com/CarylMcAdoo.author

Blog            –        http://www.CarylMcAdoo.blogspot.com

GoodReads –        http://tinyurl.com/GoodReadsCaryl

Google+       –        http://tinyurl.com/CarylsGooglePlus

Twitter        –        http://www.twitter.com/CarylMcAdoo

Pinterest     –        http://www.pinterest.com/CarylMcAdoo

Thanks for visiting with us. We’ll see you again soon 🙂

 

One Response to “Write to the Point with Caryl McAdoo (Part 5)”

  1. carylkane Says:

    Congratulations Caryl on your latest release! I enjoy reading multi-generational stories. I’ve already “liked” you on facebook.

    psalm103and138[at]gmail[dot]com


Leave a Reply

