Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

God’s Time October 16, 2015

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:09 pm
Tags: , ,
By Joshua Hibbert

By Joshua Hibbert

Last week I said was beginning a new chapter in my story and I would share today. So here it goes.

A few years ago I wrote this post (click here). It’s very interesting to read now in light of this new chapter.

In that post I shared about my “dream” job and I didn’t get it. I was sad but eventually I realized I was where God wanted me to be.

I came to love my new school district and was sure I had found my landing place. The only downside to the job was it wasn’t full-time  but I hoped someday it would be. I never entertained leaving.

Last year my lifegroup went through a study together and in the study the pastor said God rarely says no to prayers that aren’t selfish or sinful. The answer is almost always yes or wait. I sat with my group and said, “Well, when I wanted that job it wasn’t selfish or sinful and God said no.”

I can only think how God must have been snickering from Heaven at my snotty little comment.

Four years after being turned down for my “dream” job a new position opened up in that district. The first position was working with elementary this new position was middle school and high school.

When I first decided to be a teacher I wanted to teach the older kids but during my student teaching I discovered I was pretty good with the little ones and I also had a professor speak some negativity over me and I believed him and decided maybe I would give up the dream of teaching middle and high school.

Even when I first found out about the job I didn’t think I would apply. I didn’t want to hear another no and I was happy where I was.

But something in me pushed me on. Patrick and I talked and prayed and decided to at least apply and see what happened. I was open with my current school district and told them what was going on. I even got letters of recommendation from them.

I turned in my resume on a Monday the next day I was called for an interview. On Thursday I went for the interview. I left feeling like I totally screwed it up (if you read my other post you might see a theme here). I wasn’t confident at all that I would get this job, even though a lot of people told me they had this feeling it would happen.

My son even said he asked God if I would get it and he only heard the word “yes” echoing in his head.

Still I doubted.

At this point I wanted the job bad, I felt this would be my final career move if I was offered it.

I waited over the weekend and all day Monday. Oh, did I mention the defeat the enemy tried to whisper into my heart on Friday? I so easily gave up hope and believed a bunch of lies.

On Tuesday afternoon, around 2:00, when I would normally be giving piano lessons but they had to cancel at the last minute, I got the call and was offered the job.

I got off the phone and praised God, I worshiped and cried. I knew this was a gift from Him and He deserves all the glory.

His answer four years ago wasn’t “no” it was “wait”, but I didn’t know it. I just find that so amazing.

I could really go on and on about the cool things that happened during all of this, the scriptures God gave to me, the feeling of His kindness waking me up in the middle of the night, this new place of stepping into His freedom.

I haven’t started yet, but will be soon. I had my first class to say good-bye to today. I didn’t want to cry, I didn’t want to make it harder for the kids, but I did. I do love them and I work with wonderful people. But I don’t doubt for a moment that God is moving me to a new place for a reason, for such a time as this.

Now is His perfect time and I can’t wait to see what He has planned for me.

Have you ever had a prayer answered and you thought the answer was no but after a while you realized it was wait? We would love to hear, please share. 

 

6 Responses to “God’s Time”

  1. Judy Says:

    I’m so happy for you! My counselor advised me to move out of my parents’ home. I told him everything I’d done in an effort to do so and how every attempt “blew up,” leaving me in an increasingly precarious position each time. I didn’t know why God was saying, “No.” I’ve struggled with a lot of anger and feelings of betrayal. I’ve almost hit rock bottom. God can’t take away much more. I’ve finished reading “40 Days of Grace,” and I’m reading “The Battle Plan for Prayer” as well as “Battlefield of the Mind.” God didn’t say, “No.” He’s been saying, “No yet. You’ve a few things you need to learn.” My job has dwindled to practically nothing, and my health is a mess so even if I wanted to find another job I’d end up sick more than I’d be working. Sometimes, I’m discouraged, but I’ve learned God never abandoned me. He has something else in mind. I know I need to treat my writing more like a job. I’m working on it. The home environment is demoralizing, demeaning, sometimes crushing. Why am I still here? I am learning down to the deepest depths of my soul that God is with me. He is listening. More importantly, He is teaching me I must depend on Him wholly, unreservedly, in every possible way. The lesson is painful, and yet the empty space, the sense of aloneness is gone. I’m never alone; God is always with me, encouraging me, loving me. I feel like He wants me to take that final jump off the cliff and trust Him to catch me or teach me to fly. I’m terrified. My parents are doubters, always pointing out all the ways I could fail, all the things that could go wrong, and all couched in “concern for me.” I’ve never married, a relationship that advises turning away from parents toward a spouse. God is asking me enter into a relationship with Him, demanding I give everything to Him, to leave behind the naysaying no matter how loudly it’s spoken in my ears, to be so devoted to Him those voices fade in His resounding love. Thanks, Melissa. This is the first time I’ve “said” it aloud.

  2. Connie Says:

    So happy for you Melissa! It’s wonderful news!


Leave a Reply

