Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Catch of a Lifetime by Candee Fick December 28, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:39 pm
Tags: ,

CandeeFick_CatchOfALifetime_800

ABOUT THE BOOK:

He breathes football. She shudders at the very mention of the sport. After a tragedy involving a football player destroyed her family, athletic trainer and graduate student, Cassie moves across the country looking for a fresh start, but a change in financial aid lands her in the middle of her worst nightmare. Meanwhile, rookie coach Reed worries his dream career will slip away as injuries plague his players and his star receiver teeters on the brink of ineligibility. As the two work together to salvage the season, sparks fly, and Reed must eventually choose between the game and the woman he loves.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Candee Fick is the wife of a high school football coach and the mother of three children, including a daughter with a rare genetic syndrome. When not busy with her day job or writing, she can be found cheering on the home team at football, basketball, baseball, and Special Olympics games. As a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW), she has been a Genesis Award double finalist and winner over several years. 

My thoughts:

Over the last few years I have become a very vocal football fan and I’m not ashamed to admit it:) With my husband coaching football and my son playing the game I have learned a lot. So when I saw this book up for review I wanted to give it read.

I always love football movies so I admire Candee for tackling the job of writing a book about it.

I enjoyed both of the main characters. Cassie is trying to figure her way in the world and can’t seem to escape the world of football. Reed is also trying to prove that he has what it takes to be a coach even though it goes against his parents wishes.

The more I read this book the more I liked it. I will say I struggled a bit in the beginning to see these characters outside the football scene. I felt a little more dimension could have been added to these characters if we would have seen them outside of the football world earlier on in the book, like being in their homes, talking to non-football friends. It just seemed their landing place was the football field and I wanted them to have a different anchoring spot. But that is my opinion only.

If you enjoy football, or even just a romance that can’t happen but wants to this might be a book you’ll want to pick up.

Visit Candee here. 

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon.

A copy of this book was given to me through The Book Club Network Inc. in exchange for an honest review. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

