Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: The Golden Braid by Melanie Dickerson January 11, 2016

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 6:47 pm
Tags: ,

the golden braid

About:

The one who needs rescuing isn’t always the one in the tower.

Rapunzel can throw a knife better than any man around. And her skills as an artist rival those of any artist she’s met. But for a woman in medieval times, the one skill she most desires is the hardest one to obtain: the ability to read.

After yet another young man asks for Rapunzel’s hand in marriage, Mother decides they need to move once again, but this time to a larger city. Rapunzel’s heart soars—surely there she can fulfill her dream. But Mother won’t let her close to a man. She claims that no man can be trusted.

After being rescued by a knight on the road to the city, and in turn rescuing him farther down the road, Rapunzel’s opportunity arrives at last. This knight, Sir Gerek, agrees to educate Rapunzel in order to pay back his debt. She just has to put up with his arrogant nature and single-minded focus on riches and prestige.

But this Rapunzel story is unlike any other and the mystery that she uncovers will change everything—except her happily ever after.

About the Author

Melanie Dickerson is the author of The Healer’s Apprentice, a Christy Award finalist and winner of the National Reader’s Choice Award for Best First Book. Melanie earned a bachelor’s degree in special education from the University of Alabama and has been a teacher and a missionary. She lives with her husband and two daughters in Huntsville, Alabama. Visit her on line at melaniedickerson.com, Facebook: MelanieDickersonBooks, and Twitter @melanieauthor.

My thoughts and giveaway:

Melanie has written another wonderful book. I will be honest I had trouble separating my mind from Disney’s Tangled and that story line.

Oh, but there are so many secrets and things unknown in this story. It will keep you reading and your mind searching for hints which are sprinkled sparingly but enough to keep you reading.

Rapunzel is a determined young lady who wants more for her life even if it means defying her mother.

Gerek is hard to get a handle on. Is he a nice guy or as arrogant as he can come across?

Overall, this is a book like you have come to expect from Melanie. And if you haven’t read anything by her then I encourage you to give this one a try.

Visit Melanie here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by January 25th for your chance to win a copy. One winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. addresses only. I am not responsible for books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me through BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review. 

 

21 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: The Golden Braid by Melanie Dickerson”

  1. Lisa Brown Says:

    Love the story line, a must read. Thanks for the chance to win it 🙂
    jslbrown2009 at aol dot com

  2. D K Stevens Says:

    I think I would like this Rapunzel story. I’ve read The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest and it was delightful! I do enjoy her books too 🙂

  3. Pam K. Says:

    Melanie’s books are “must reads” for me. I always enjoy her fairy tale retellings. Thanks for the chance to win The Golden Braid.

  4. Pam Lunsford Says:

    I have never read one of her books before. Do you need to read these books in order? Thank you so much for offering a free book. Can’t wait to read her books.

    • No, you do not need to read them in order. There are overlapping characters from previous books but that shouldn’t hinder you from fully enjoying this one. Hope you get the chance to read it.

  5. Loraine N. Says:

    The Golden Braid is on my TBR list. I’ve heard so many good things about Melanie’s stories and Rapunzel is one of my favorite tales. Thanks for the review and giveaway!

  6. Karen Says:

    I’ve never read any of Melanie’s books, but I keep trying to win this one! It sounds like such a wonderful story!

  7. spotts06 Says:

    I so want to read The Golden Braid. I have heard so much about it. Thanks for the giveaway. A win would just make my day.

  8. Natalie Monk Says:

    I’d love a chance to win! Thanks for the review!

  9. Natalie Monk Says:

    Well it might help if I put my email address, haha! nataliedmonk AT gmail DOT com
    Thanks again!

  10. I haven’t read anything from Melanie yet and I’d LOVE to to accept your encouragement! 😉 Winning a copy would be AWESOME! 🙂

  11. kim amundsen Says:

    Love her books.

  12. Melody Durant Says:

    What an exciting herorine she is, can’t wait to read it!

  13. ELIZA ELLIOT Says:

    Looks wonderful – love the cover.

  14. Melanie Backus Says:

    I would love this one. It sounds like a winner and I would love to be one too! Keeping my fingers crossed!


Leave a Reply

