Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

The Painter’s Daughter by Julie Klassen January 19, 2016

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:32 am
Tags: ,

the painters

About:

Sophie Dupont assists her father in his studio, keeping her own artwork out of sight. In private, she paints the picturesque north Devon coast, popular with artists–including handsome Wesley Overtree, who seems more interested in Sophie than the landscape.

Captain Stephen Overtree is accustomed to taking on his brother Wesley’s responsibilities. Near the end of his leave, he is sent to find his brother and bring him home. Upon reaching Devonshire, however, Stephen is stunned to learn Wesley has sailed for Italy and left his host’s daughter in serious trouble.

Stephen feels duty-bound to act, and strangely protective of the young lady, who somehow seems familiar. Wanting to make some recompense for his own past failings as well as his brother’s, Stephen proposes to Miss Dupont. He does not offer love, but marriage “in name only” to save her from scandal. If he dies in battle, as he fears, she will at least be a respectable widow.

Desperate for a way to escape her predicament, Sophie finds herself torn between her first love and this brooding man she barely knows. Dare she wait for Wesley to return? Or should she elope with the captain and pray she doesn’t come to regret it?

My thoughts:

Oh my, this book is amazing.  Julie Klassen has written another fabulous book.

I don’t even know where to begin. The plot is just great and will have you guessing and wondering what will happen. I have to admit, I was so concerned about the characters that I had to peek at the last page. I  couldn’t wait to see what would happen (that’s bad, I know).

Then I was up way past my bedtime because I didn’t want to stop reading and had to see what would happen.

Sophie is a wonderful young woman who made a mistake and struggles with feelings from her past. I can definitely relate to that.

Stephen reminded me very much of my husband, strong and willing to do whatever he has to for those he loves.

Truly, one of the best books I have read in a while. If you like Julie’s books, or if you haven’t read anything by her, this is a must read.

Visit Julie here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

An e-copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

