Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Annabel Lee by Mike Nappa April 4, 2016

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 3:57 pm
Tags: , ,

annabel

About:

Fourteen miles east of Peachtree, Alabama, a secret is hidden.
The secret’s name is Annabel Lee.

She doesn’t know why her enigmatic uncle has stowed her deep underground in a military-style bunker. He’s left her with a few German words, a barely controlled guard dog, and a single command: “Don’t open that door for anybody, you got it? Not even me.”

Miles away in Atlanta, private investigator Trudi Coffey is visited by a mysterious older man calling himself Dr. Smith. He’s been trailing a man for a decade–a man she met through her ex-partner Samuel Hill–and the trail has led him to her office. The last thing Trudi wants to do is to contact Samuel. But it will take both of them to unravel this mystery–before it’s too late.

My thoughts and giveaway:

The first thing that drew me to this book was the cover. It’s so mysterious and ominous. Then I read other reviews and I heard great things about this book.

I do know sometimes one person’s opinion can be different from mine, so I was I super excited to read this book and form my own opinion.

This book is unput-downable (I made up the word). The only reason I put it down at night was because I couldn’t keep my eyes open any longer, otherwise I would have read much longer every night.

Each chapter ups the tension and the mystery. What is going on? Is Truck a good guy or a bad guy? Can Trudi and Sam mend their past? Will they find a way to save Annabel, and even if they get to her will they know the secret code?

Annabel is a sweet girl who doesn’t know Jesus. I couldn’t wait to see when/if she would open her eyes to the truth of His love for her. I had trouble picturing her as an eleven-year-old, I kept thinking of her younger than that, not exactly sure why.

Trudi is a strong woman who still loves her ex-husband. I loved her sassy attitude towards him even though the reader knows how she really feels.

I hated to say good-bye to these characters. The good news is this is the beginning of series and I will be sure to read the other books.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by April 11th for your chance to win. One winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. addresses only. I am not responsible for books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

 

7 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Annabel Lee by Mike Nappa”

  1. kim hansen Says:

    Love the interview.

  2. DK Stevens Says:

    unput-downable ?? You’ve got me wanting to read this 🙂 I enjoyed the review & definitely want to read this one!

  3. Pam Lunsford Says:

    I have seen this book and have wondered if I would would like it. After I read your review, I Have To Read It!! Just by your review I am wondering how will they ever find her and why did this man put Annabelle there in the first place.
    Loved your new word!!!

  4. Diane Estrella Says:

    This one interests me a lot and my niece is named Annabel too!

  5. carylkane Says:

    Annabel Lee is on my must read list! I agree that the cover is ominous. What could be lurking around the corner?

  6. Loraine N. Says:

    I am intrigued about this one the more I read the reviews on it. I just need to know what would keep Annabel behind the locked doors. Thanks for the review and the giveaway!

  7. Jasmine A. Says:

    I’ve been wanting to read this book since I first heard about it awhile back. It sounds so delightfully chilling…
    BTW, great review!
    Blessings!
    Jasmine


Leave a Reply

