Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

LOL, Right Now April 8, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — Melissa Finnegan @ 2:40 pm
By Matthew Wiebe

By Matthew Wiebe

Today I want to share with you how God showed up in my life over the last two months and forced me to speak His will over myself. Some people could say I was lying but I don’t think that is what I was doing. I believe God put me into situations where I was forced to speak what He promised even though I was in a dark pit that threatened to overwhelm me.

It was a Saturday morning in February. The night before we had a rehearsal for the musical. Having a Friday night rehearsal with high schoolers while a basketball game was going on across the hallway was a horrible idea. The kids where so unfocused and disrespectful. I almost cried that night but I didn’t.

However, the next morning I was depressed (and probably looked a lot like the picture above). I believed every lie the enemy told me. “It was a mistake to leave your previous job.” “You can’t handle this job.” “The musical will be failure and everyone will know you aren’t a good teacher.” “The kids hate you.” Yep, I fell for every one of those lies and just let the enemy beat me up.

Then, I get a text from my friend, out of the blue. I didn’t tell her that I was struggling at all. But she felt I needed to hear some words she was reading in a book called Birthing the Miraculous by Heidi Baker (I have since read this book and it is very good).

This is a bit of what she shared. It comes from chapter 2: “He looks for a church, for a people, for worshippers, who will not care about being stretched or pulled or inconvenienced, who will let the Lord take all of them.” Further on Heidi writes: “The Lord is looking for hose who are so in love with Him they will say yes when they are wooed and still say yes when great sacrifice is required.”

Woah. Needless to say I was in tears and knew the Holy Spirit was speaking through my dear friend. She had no idea I was questioning where God had placed me.

After that I had a full day of running to many different places. Every single place I went that day I saw someone from where I previously worked, the place I loved and was so easy for me. Of course they asked how things where going. I wasn’t about tell them I was just struggling that morning. Instead I spoke God’s promises. His Words says in Exodus 33: 14: I will personally go with you and I will give you rest — everything will be fine for you.

Everything would be fine for me so that is what I spoke. I told every sing person I saw that it was going well, it was challenging but I was enjoying it. And that was the truth. I was having a bad few days but really it was going well so I spoke that over myself all day long.

Isn’t God amazing? Even when we don’t want to speak His truth sometimes He puts us in situations where we can’t deny it. By the end of that day I was knew I was where God wanted me and I was covered in His promises.

Are you doubting something? Are you questioning God’s promises? Speak what He has promised you out loud. Laugh at the enemy, laugh at the lies He tries to tell you.

Lies you might hear:

Nothing will ever change. (Laugh)

I will never find a job. (Laugh)

My house will never sell. (Laugh)

My marriage will never be healthy. (Laugh)

I will never feel normal. (Laugh)

The lies can go on and on. You know the lies you believe, you entertain. Laugh at the lies, seriously, laugh out loud and speak the truth over yourself, OUT LOUD. There is something about doing it out loud then just in your head.

Seriously…LOL right now 🙂

 

6 Responses to “LOL, Right Now”

  1. faithdp24 Says:

    Reblogged this on faithdp24 and commented:
    Well said. I always appreciate what Melissa Finnegan has to say.

  2. Diana Says:

    Melissa, I sure needed this timely post! All this past week I have been bombarded by thoughts the enemy is trying to plant in my mind. Part of it has to do with me being on the verge of a breakthrough in my health although I actually have been feeling worse. Thank you, Melissa! I have used your LOL advice today!

  3. KayM Says:

    I’m glad God sent encouragement just when you needed it. Thank you for sharing. Blessings…


Leave a Reply

