Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

God’s Presence In Our Lives April 15, 2016

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:19 pm
Tags: ,
By Vladimir Kudinov

By Vladimir Kudinov

One day in February as I was praying and really wanting to feel God’s presence fall heavy on me He revealed something to me. I wrote it down in my journal. Here is what I learned:

Maybe sensing God’s presence isn’t always about this heavy, mystical feeling. Maybe it’s about keeping our eyes open for ways He is working, for blessings, for encounters. I want this tingly feeling but He’s been showing up in other ways: through my husband, students, people from my previous job and forcing me to speak positively, through my son hugging me, kissing me and saying he loves me, through having a great lesson when the principal walked in my room, through a better rehearsal.  That’s also sensing His presence. 

I was struggling with wanting to feel the weight of His presence and I thought if I didn’t feel that He wasn’t there. But I was wrong. Sometimes it’s in the simple things, we just need to open our eyes to that.

Let’s spin this around: Maybe you can bring the presence of God into someone’s life who really needs to see Him. You may not even realize you are doing it (I’m sure none of the people listed above was thinking about bring His presence), just know that sometimes it’s the little things that can make a big difference.

Have you sensed God’s presence in unexpected ways recently? We would love to hear about it!

 

6 Responses to “God’s Presence In Our Lives”

  1. Great devotion and so true. God is with us always.

  2. Judy Says:

    My life has been in turmoil, and God has sent friends online with encouragement and messages through memes and posts on FB. I may feel abandoned, but I know it’s only because I’m not noticing God’s presence in my life. Thanks for your post, one more reminder.

  3. Brenda Murphree Says:

    I feel Gods presence in the small things too, but I love to pray till I speak in an unknown tongue and then I know I’m really close to God because it is His Spirit dwelling in me. I don’t seek for tongues but when I earnestly pray to God He fills me with his spirit all over again with the evidence of speaking in tongues. Please read all about it in Acts 2:38. It’s for everyone.


Leave a Reply

