Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

The Hesitant Heiress by Dawn Crandell April 25, 2016

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:37 pm
Tags: , ,

HesitantHeiress

About:

After being unjustly expelled from the Boston Conservatory of Music, Amaryllis Brigham sees her dreams of founding a music academy disappearing before her very eyes. Now the only way to achieve her goal comes with high stakes for someone set on avoiding men as much as possible: marry within the year to inherit her grandmother’s fortune. Amaryllis reluctantly takes part in her aunt’s society, intent on getting to the west coast on her own… and without a husband.

Despite her own misgivings, she soon finds herself falling in love with the most unlikely of men, Nathan Everstone, whose father not only had a part in her expulsion, but whose ominous presence has haunted her dreams for a decade since her mother’s tragic death. Nathan turns out to be much more than he seems and everything she never knew she wanted. But just as everything Amaryllis has recently hoped for comes to fruition, it all falls apart when she finds that the real culprit who has been “managing her life” isn’t who she thought at all.

My thoughts:

I purchased this book because I discovered Dawn was a Michigan author and I love supporting authors in my state. It didn’t hurt that her book sounded very interesting.

I would compare her work to Jessica Dotta, who I loved! Therefore, that means I really enjoyed this book.

Dawn places you in the midst of story and the mystery surrounding Amaryllis and her life story. There is something going on here and Bram Everstone definitely has a hand it, but what and why?

Then there is Nathan who Amaryllis wants to loath but I want her to give into him. I could tell he wasn’t that bad and truly cared for Amaryllis. But he was moody and made it difficult to know how he would act from one scene to the next. And then I question what made him care about it? There was something there that I didn’t see.

I will definitely be reading more of Dawn’s work and if you enjoy historical romance I highly recommend this one.

Visit Dawn here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer.

 

Leave a Reply

