Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway:Anchor in the Storm by Sarah Sundin May 19, 2016

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 3:56 pm
Tags: , , ,

an anchor in the storm

About:

In a time of sacrifice, what price can one put on true love?

Nothing slows Lillian Avery down–not her personal challenges and certainly not America’s entry into World War II. She finally has a chance to prove herself as a pharmacist in Boston. The demands of her new job energize her. But society boy Ensign Archer Vandenberg’s attentions only annoy–even if he is her brother’s best friend.

During the darkest days of the war, Arch’s destroyer hunts German U-boats in vain as the submarines sink dozens of merchant ships along the East Coast. Still shaken by battles at sea, Arch notices his men also struggle with their nerves–and with drowsiness. Could there be a link to the large prescriptions Lillian has been filling?

As the danger rises on both land and sea, the two must work together to answer that question. But can Arch ever earn Lillian’s trust and affection?

My thoughts and giveaway:

Fans of Sarah will not be disappointed with this newest installment. True to form she has written another great novel set in the beginning of WWII.

This is the second book in this series. We met Arch in the first book. I liked him then and come to like him even more in this book. He tries so hard to break the stereo-type of what a rich kid is. He is also dealing with the after math of his ship going down and the effects that has on him now. Will this ruin his career?

Lillian I loved. She isn’t perfect. You don’t meet too many heroines who have a physical disability. But Lillian does, she’s missing a leg. I love how Sarah portrayed her, still so strong but also dealing with the effects of her disability.

Overall, another great book by Sarah.

Visit Sarah here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by May 26th for your chance to win a copy. One winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. addresses only. I will not replace books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

 

16 Responses to “Review and Giveaway:Anchor in the Storm by Sarah Sundin”

  1. Loraine N. Says:

    I just finished Sarah’s Wings of the Nightingale series, which I loved! She has such a wonderful way of combining history with great stories. I am looking forward to reading her latest series. Thanks for the review and giveaway!

  2. Sarah Sundin Says:

    Thanks for the lovely review, Melissa! I’m glad you enjoyed Arch & Lillian’s story!

  3. Karen Spiegel Says:

    I like history based fiction. Sounds like a good book to read.

  4. Pam K. Says:

    I haven’t read either of the books in this series yet, but I’d like to. Sarah’s previous books are really good. Thanks for the review and the chance to win Anchor in the Storm.

  5. tlrosado Says:

    I just recently purchased the first book in this series. I looking forward to both of them.

  6. Lis K Says:

    I love her books. So much history but she makes it interesting. Thanks for the giveaway!

  7. KayM Says:

    I haven’t started reading this series, yet, but I think I will enjoy it. thank you for offering a copy of Anchor in the Storm.

  8. quiltcatlady Says:

    I;ve read all of Sarah’s books to date, and have been very impressed by her ability to weave historical facts with fiction. She is one of my favorites for developing WWII novels. Thank you for offering this giveaway!
    quiltcat26[at]gmail[.]com

  9. Karen Says:

    I can’t wait to read Arch’s story! I knew that Sarah was hinting at it in Through Waters Deep, and I really enjoyed that one as well!

  10. Melanie Backus Says:

    Thank you for the great giveaway opportunity. Keeping my fingers crossed!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  11. Becky Says:

    I would love to win a copy of this book!

    Becky

    adult4becky at aol dot com

  12. I have not read any books by Sarah Sundin yet. I would love to have Anchor in the Storm be the first one. The covers of her books are gorgeous and I really enjoy wwII books. This book sounds marvelous, I’d love to get lost in it.

    Deanne P.
    Cnnamongirl at aol dot com


Leave a Reply

