Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

The Progeny by Tosca Lee May 23, 2016

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 3:40 pm
Tags: ,

tosca lee

About:

New York Times bestselling author Tosca Lee brings a modern twist to an ancient mystery surrounding the most notorious female serial killer of all time. A fast-paced thriller for fans of Ted Dekker’s The Books of Mortals, Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code, and BBC America’s hit series Orphan Black.

Emily Jacobs is the descendant of a serial killer. Now, she’s become the hunted.

She’s on a quest that will take her to the secret underground of Europe and the inner circles of three ancient orders—one determined to kill her, one devoted to keeping her alive, and one she must ultimately save.

Filled with adrenaline, romance, and reversals, The Progeny is the present-day saga of a 400-year-old war between the uncanny descendants of “Blood Countess” Elizabeth Bathory, the most prolific female serial killer of all time, and a secret society dedicated to erasing every one of her descendants. A story about the search for self filled with centuries-old intrigues against the backdrop of atrocity and hope.

My thoughts:

This is only the second book I have read by Tosca Lee. I loved the first and this book I love no less, if not more. She is an amazing writer who grabs the reader by the mind and won’t let go.

Emily’s story is full of suspense, mystery and romance. You will be placed in one dangerous situation into another. Emily’s gifts are fascinating as she learns to use them and discovers who she is.

The hardest part is Emily doesn’t know who she can trust and the reader will be left wondering as well. There is so much secrecy going on.

I will caution reads of Christian fiction…there is some language in this book that surprised me. Also, I kept looking for Jesus in the book and had trouble finding much faith in these characters, but perhaps that will happen later on. If that stuff doesn’t bother you then truly this is an excellent book, a well-crafted story.

Visit Tosca here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer. Available May 24th.

A copy of this book was given to me through Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review. 

Advertisements
 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s