Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

This Is Amazing Grace May 27, 2016

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 3:24 pm
Tags: ,

feet-in-chainsA girl was in a dry field, flat, dusty and she was putting on her old chains. They were heavy yet there was some sense of comfort in them. They slipped back on easily enough. Even though she didn’t really like them…yet she did. She couldn’t explain it and she knew it was messed up how she felt about her old chains, but she couldn’t let them go.

Then Jesus came to her. “What are you doing here?”

“I don’t know.” The girl looked down in shame. She had disappointed her Savior. How could she go back to this place, yet she didn’t have the strength to leave again.

“I set you free from these a long time ago.” Jesus lifted her hand that had a clamp wrapped around it, he slipped it off. “They don’t even fit you anymore.”

“I know. I don’t know why I am here. I don’t even know how I got here.” The girl cries.

“Let’s get out of here.”

The girl hesitates. “I don’t know if I want to leave.  I am afraid I will return again. ”

“Then I will come back and get you.” He looks at her as only her Savior could look at her, He sees all she can be, not all she has been.

“You’ll come back again?” The girl couldn’t believe this. Why would he keep coming back for her? Someone who kept returning to her chains? “How many times will come back?”

“As many times as you return. This is amazing grace.” Jesus slipped off all her chains. “Come with me, I will remind you who you really are. You don’t belong in this dry, barren land. I have a land that is rich and lush. That is where you belong.”

She left her chains again and followed Jesus to her true identity.

 

One Response to “This Is Amazing Grace”


Leave a Reply

