Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: No Other Will Do by Karen Witemeyer June 27, 2016

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:55 pm
Tags: , ,

no other will do

About:

A Ladies of Harper Station Novel

She Trusts Him for the Job,
But Can She Trust Him With Her Heart?

Men are optional. That was the credo Emma Chandler’s suffragette aunts taught her and why she established Harper’s Station, a women’s colony that offers a fresh start to females in need. But when a dangerous and shadowy assailant tries repeatedly to drive the women out, Emma is forced to admit they might need a man after all. One who can fight. And there is only one man she trusts enough to ask.

Malachi Shaw has finally earned the respect he’s always craved by becoming an explosives expert for the railroad. Yet when Emma’s telegram arrives, he rushes back to Texas to repay the girl who once saved his life. Only she’s not a girl any longer. She’s a woman with a mind of her own and a smile that makes a man imagine a future he doesn’t deserve.

As the danger intensifies, Emma, Mal, and the ladies of Harper’s Station must choose safety or whether to risk everything to fight for their future.

My Thoughts and Review:

I am continually impressed with Karen’s books. She does a wonderful job with every book she writes. This newest one holds true to that.

I will be honest, I wasn’t sure how I would feel about all this not needing a man stuff that our heroine believes in (not that I think we should be overly dependent on men, but I don’t totally agree with the where feminism as taken us). But Karen managed to write about it without it being offending. And Emma obviously isn’t opposed to needing Malachi.

There attraction is so sweet and Malachi completely respects Emma and loves her for who she is.

I loved seeing Emma seeking God’s will and even questioning if she chose the right path in life. We often feel this way when we come against obstacles.

There are many wonderful characters introduced in this book and it sounds like this is the start to new series, so I am very excited to visit Harper Station again.

Visit Karen here. 

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by July 5th for your chance to win a copy. One winner will be chosen by random.org (U.S. addresses only. I will not replace book lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

 

26 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: No Other Will Do by Karen Witemeyer”

  1. KayM Says:

    Thank you for your perceptive review. I think I would enjoy reading this book from Karen Witemeyer. Thanks for offering a copy.

  2. DK Stevens Says:

    Will they choose safety or whether to risk everything to fight for their future?? I’m sure wanting to read more.. thanks for the giveaway!!
    dkstevensne AToutlookD otCoM

  3. Pam Lunsford Says:

    I really like your thoughts on this book, I wasn’t sure about No Other Will Do. But your comments makes me want to read it.

  4. Pam K. Says:

    I’ve read all of Karen’s prior books and liked them very much so I want to read No Other Will Do. It has an interesting setting, a women’s colony. It seems to show that no matter how independent we want to be, sometimes we need others. We always need God. Thanks for your review and the chance to win this book.

  5. Vera Wilson Says:

    Sounds like one I would enjoy. Thanks for the chance.

  6. Karen Says:

    Usually, Western romances aren’t my favorite, but I really love Karen’s books! She has just the right mix of romance, inspiration, and some danger for good measure!

  7. Rachael Merritt Says:

    I love reading Karen’s books! Always so fun! Full Steam Ahead is my favorite!

  8. Terrill Rosado Says:

    I enjoy Karen Witemeyer’s western rom-coms. We need more rom-coms in Christian Fiction like Mary Connealy, Jen Turano, and Regina Jennings. Of course, I’m biased since rom-coms are my favorite romance sub-genre.

  9. Charis Z. Says:

    Can’t wait to get my hands on a copy. Thanks for the chance to win!

  10. Jackie Smith Says:

    I have loved all of Karen’s books so am anxious to read this one! Thanks for the giveaway.

  11. Loraine N. Says:

    I recently read Karen’s book “Head In The Clouds” and really liked it. I like the premise of this new one. I’m interested to see how she handles the feminism, particularly after reading your review. Thanks for the giveaway!

  12. Diane Estrella Says:

    She is definitely one of my favorite authors. Cute cover on this book too.

  13. Maryann Says:

    Karen is a new author to me. I would love to read Emma and Malachi’s story. This sounds like a fun book for summer reading.

  14. Melanie Backus Says:

    Karen is a delightful person and I would love to read her book. Thank you for this great opportunity.

  15. Brenda Murphree Says:

    I would want to read this book by just looking at the cover. I do that a lot. Thank you for the opportunity to win one.

  16. carylkane Says:

    Karen is a new author for me. Your review has me wanting to read more. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

