Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Delilah by Angela Hunt July 14, 2016

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 8:24 pm
Tags: , , ,

delilah

About:

A Complex and Compelling Glimpse at One of the Bible’s Most Notorious Women

Life is not easy in Philistia, especially not for a woman and child alone. When beautiful, wounded Delilah finds herself begging for food to survive, she resolves that she will find a way to defeat all the men who have taken advantage of her. She will overcome the roadblocks life has set before her, and she will find riches and victory for herself.

When she meets a legendary man called Samson, she senses that in him lies the means for her victory. By winning, seducing, and betraying the hero of the Hebrews, she will attain a position of national prominence. After all, she is beautiful, she is charming, and she is smart. No man, not even a supernaturally gifted strongman, can best her in a war of wits.

My thoughts and giveaway:

When I have thought of Delilah before I always thought of a sneaky, tricky woman. But after reading this version of the story I have a little more understanding for her and what she might have been going through.

Angela Hunt has done a wonderful job of bringing this story to life and making Samson and Delilah very real.

In this story Delilah is an abused young woman left with a child she doesn’t want. She is very hard-hearted toward men and doesn’t really trust them. But something draws her to Samson.

Samson seems to not want to be the man God created him to be. He is struggling with his identity and almost doesn’t want the responsiblity put on him.

One thing I think we need to remember was that Samson was human like the rest of us. He made mistakes. He liked women a bit too much and chose them over God. He did pay a price for that.

I struggled with reading about Samson and Delilah living together, as I disagree with that practice but Delilah definitely didn’t know the Lord.

I also struggled a little with Delilah’s motivation for turning on Samson, I just had trouble believing it to some extent. However, I can’t say too much because I don’t want to ruin the ending for you.

I loved how Angela reminded us that faith comes from the inside not the outside. As long as we hold on to faith in our hearts no one can take it away.

The ending was beautiful and satisfying and Samson finally sees his errors in thinking and repents. Oh, and I especially enjoyed Rei, another character in the book that gave me a bit of surprise.

Overall, an enjoyable read and that most Biblical Fiction readers will enjoy.

Visit Angela here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by July 21st for your chance to win a copy. One winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. addresses only. I will not replace books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

 

10 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Delilah by Angela Hunt”

  1. KayM Says:

    Angela Hunt is one of my favorite authors. I’ve read most of her books and have been catching up on the ones I missed. I really have enjoyed her Biblical fiction. Thank you for offering a copy of Delilah.

  2. Brenda Murphree Says:

    I have never read a book by Angela. I would love to try it. Thanks for the opportunity

  3. kim hansen Says:

    New author for me exciting.

  4. Loraine N. Says:

    I am really interested in reading this one. Like you, I have always thought of Delilah in a one-dimensional way. I would love to see how Angela makes her more human. Thanks for the review and giveaway!

  5. diannekc Says:

    This sounds like an interesting read and I look forward to reading it.
    diannekc8(at)gmail(dot)com

  6. Wow, love the cover ! She was a beautiful woman ! Can’t wait to read this book. Would love to win!
    Linda Marie Finn
    Faithful Acres Body Soul Spirit
    http://www.faithfulacresbodysoulspirit.wordpress.com

  7. carylkane Says:

    I LOVE Biblical fiction! I’m looking forward to reading this one.
    psalm103and138 at gmail dot com


Leave a Reply

