Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

I Wish My Teacher Knew by Kyle Schwartz August 2, 2016

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:52 pm
Tags: , ,

This is not the typical book I review. But since I am a teacher this was a book I was very interesting in reviewing. I’m hoping some other teachers out there will find this review helpful.

i wish my teacher

About:

One day, third-grade teacher Kyle Schwartz asked her students to fill–in–the–blank in this sentence: “I wish my teacher
knew _____.” The results astounded her. Some answers were humorous, others were heartbreaking–all were profoundly moving and enlightening. The results opened her eyes to the need for educators to understand the unique realities their students face in order to create an open, safe and supportive place in the classroom. When Schwartz shared her experience online, #IWishMyTeacherKnew became an immediate worldwide viral phenomenon. Schwartz’s book tells the story of #IWishMyTeacherKnew, including many students’ emotional and insightful responses, and ultimately provides an invaluable guide for teachers, parents, and communities.

My thoughts:

As my mind is slowly making the shift back to my classroom this book comes at a perfect time for me to implement this year.

Kyle shares a lot of great ideas for creating a safe and secure environment for our students. It’s not just about posing the sentence “I wish my teacher knew…” it’s about so much more.

However, giving the kids the opportunity to fill in the blank can help you set the tone and meet your students needs for the rest of the school year.

Kyle taught elementary but I teach middle and high school. My answers to this could be very different but I am curious how my students will fill in the blank. I’m sure I’ll get some silly things but I think also it will give my students to space to share something they otherwise might not feel they can.

Overall this is a great book that will give you a lot of ideas for creating a safe environment for our students and foster a sense of community.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble or your favorite retailer.

A copy of this book was given to me through Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review. 

 

Leave a Reply

