Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: An Elegant Façade by Kristi Ann Hunter August 11, 2016

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:17 pm
Tags: , ,

an elegant

About: 

Lady Georgina Hawthorne has always known she must marry well. After years of tirelessly planning every detail of her debut season, she is poised to be a smashing success and have her choice of eligible gentlemen.

With money and powerful business connections but no title, Colin McCrae is invited everywhere but accepted nowhere. He intends to marry someday, but when he does it will not be to a shallow woman like Lady Georgina, whose only concerns appear to be status and appearance.

But beneath her flawless exterior, Georgina’s social aspirations stem from a shameful secret she is desperately trying to keep hidden–and that Colin is too close to discovering. Drawn to each other despite their mutual intent to avoid association, is the realization of their dreams worth the sacrifices they’ll be forced to make?

My thoughts and giveaway:

Wow. I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this book. I didn’t read the first book in the series, but I can safely say you can read this one and fully enjoy it without reading the first. However, reading this has now put A Noble Masquerade on my list to read very soon.

Apparently, the first half of this book is stuff that happened in the first book but from Georgina’s perspective. I’ll be honest, at first I wasn’t a big fan of Georgina, she was so calculating and fake. But the truth is she is like most of us. Covering up her wounds so others won’t see them.

There was a such a deep spiritual message hidden within this book. What I took away was the beauty in being fully known. Sharing our hurts with others and allowing them to love us through the pain.

There is a great Genesis 5020 message, which of course I loved.

Obviously, I came to love Georgina and relate to her very well, as I see now I have acted the same way she has, I tried to cover up my shame and craft this wall around me that could never keep me safe. I also appreciated how Kristi showed Georgina’s growing relationship with the Lord.

Colin, I adored. What a great hero. So strong and ready to protect Georgina even when she didn’t know she needed it.

There aren’t too many books that make me want to cry, but let me tell you, if my husband wasn’t sitting next to me as I finished this book I would have been bawling. It was so beautiful and perfect. I can’t recommend this one enough.

Visit Kristi here. 

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by August 18th for your chance to win a copy. One winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. addresses only. I will not replace books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

 

46 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: An Elegant Façade by Kristi Ann Hunter”

  1. Kim hansen Says:

    Sounds like a good read.

  2. Pam K. Says:

    I read the previous novella and novel in this series and liked them both very much. Like you, I didn’t really like Georgina. I’m curious to see how Kristi Ann Hunter has the Lord work in Georgina’s life to redeem her character. An Elegant Facade is a book I’m looking forward to reading. Thanks for your review of it and for the book giveaway.

  3. Trixi Says:

    I have already read & reviewed this book so I am not entering. I just wanted you to know I am sharing this on my FB page 🙂

  4. Diane Estrella Says:

    Thanks for the very honest review. I had seen both of these books but not gotten them yet. This makes me want to for sure!

  5. Judy Says:

    I’m currently reading her novella “A Lady of Esteem.” I’m adding Kristi Ann Hunter to my Must Read list and looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

  6. Cathy Says:

    I am an avid reader but as I have not read the first book, either, I am pleased to know one can still comfortably follow the story with book two. This sounds a very interesting and touching read with the gradual revelation of the main character’s background and issues. Very much enjoyed the review. Thanks!

  7. What a wonderful review of a very appealing story. I can’t wait to read it.

  8. Karen K. Says:

    I LOVED A Noble Masquerade! It was so good! It really didn’t make me like Georgina much, so I’m curious to see how Kristi turned her into a likable person, lol.

    mylittlebirdie (at) yahoo (dot) com

  9. Loraine N. Says:

    I have this one on my TBR list and after reading your review I am even more interested in it. I really like the idea of seeing a character that I don’t care for become a better person. Thanks for the review and the giveaway!

  10. Oh this sounds so good!!

  11. Julie W. Says:

    This looks like my kind of book! I haven’t read the previous one, but I’m going to plan on it. 🙂

  12. Janet Estridge Says:

    I’m looking forward to reading this book, especially, if the inside is as good as the outside cover.

  13. Thank you for your review. This sounds awesome! And thanks for the giveaway!
    Blessings
    Joy
    ibjoy(at) yahoo dot com

  14. Connie Lee Says:

    I would love to read this book, thanks for the giveaway!

  15. Mindy H Says:

    Thanks for the contest!

  16. Jeanette G. Says:

    Sounds like a great read. I am adding it to my wishlist.

  17. Mallory Reynolds Says:

    Sounds like a good book. I’ve never read this author but your review makes me want to check her out. Thanks for the chance to win.

  18. Mindy H Says:

    Thanks for the giveaway. Noble Masquerade is a fantastic read. The novella that precedes Noble Masquerade (can’t recall the title right now) is also a good read.

  19. pattymh2000 Says:

    I have read the novella introducing this series, but not the first book . I really enjoyed the novella and look forward to reading more by Kristi!

  20. carylkane Says:

    Hello Melissa, this series is on my must read list. Your review has me moving it to the top of my list. Thank you for the giveaway.

    I’ve shared the giveaway on Facebook. psalm103and138 at gmail dot com

  21. Looks interesting. I would love to read it. Regency novels are my favorite especially ones that show character growth.

  22. eliza elliott Says:

    Looks like a wonderful book. Love the regency books.

  23. agboss777 Says:

    I love historical Christian fiction, and Regency fiction is one of my favorites. Kristi Ann Hunter is a wonderful author. I read the prequel to this series, A Lady of Esteem, and it was very good. Georgina was a bit of a stinker in that book. So glad to hear that we will learn her story in An Elegant Facade and grow to love her in this book. I am looking forward to continuing this AWESOME series! Thanks for this great review and the opportunity of this giveaway!

  24. Sounds like a wonderful book.

    CherylB1987 AT hotmail DOT com

  25. Brenda Murphree Says:

    I would love to win this book. I think if it made you want to cry it has the ability to make others feel something for the characters. I love emotional books. Thanks for the opportunity to win.

  26. Hopefully I’m not too late. I’ve been so excited for the continuing of this series. tlhcoupon(at)hotmail(dot)com


Leave a Reply

