Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

The Things We Knew by Catherine West August 29, 2016

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 9:58 pm
Tags: ,

the things

About:

When their tragic past begins to resurface, can he help her remember the things she can’t?

After her mother’s death twelve years ago, Lynette Carlisle watched her close-knit family unravel. One by one, her four older siblings left their Nantucket home and never returned. All seem to blame their father for their mother’s death, but nobody will talk about that tragic day. And Lynette’s memory only speaks through nightmares.

Then Nicholas Cooper returns to Nantucket, bringing the past with him. Once Lynette’s adolescent crush, Nick knows more about her mother’s death than he lets on. The truth could tear apart his own family—and destroy his fragile friendship with Lynette, the woman he no longer thinks of as a kid sister.

As their father’s failing health and financial concerns bring the Carlisle siblings home, secrets surface that will either restore their shattered relationships or separate the siblings forever. But pulling up anchor on the past propels them into the perfect storm, powerful enough to make them question their faith, their willingness to forgive, and the very truth of all the things they thought they knew.

My thoughts:

I read a lot of other reviews on this book and they were all so good. I just had to see for myself and I hoped I wouldn’t be disappointed.

Let’s just say, I was nowhere near disappointed. I was sucked in and didn’t want to leave this story-world.

I have never read anything by Catherine before but she has my attention now. She has written this beautiful story that is part romance, part women’s fiction and it has so much meat to it.

I really like Lynette, I loved her spunk and determination, her faith and her honesty with struggling with that.

Nick is a dream hero and so perfect for Lynette, he made me sigh a few times.

Lynette’s whole family is a mess and I loved them, they were so real, so like many of our families.

If you are looking for a book that has a lot of depth and a great romance this is the book for you.

Visit Catherine here. 

Grab your copy at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer.

A copy of this book was given to me by through the BookLook Blogger program in exchange for an honest review. 

 

Leave a Reply

