Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

The Devoted by Suzanne Woods Fisher October 17, 2016

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:37 pm
Tags: ,

the-devoted

The Amish life is all she’s ever known–but will it satisfy her soul?

Restless and adventurous, Ruthie Stoltzfus is right on the cusp of leaving her Amish home. Secretly, she’s earned her GED, saved her money–but she can’t quite set her journey into motion. Just as everything falls into place, along comes Patrick Kelly.

Patrick is a young man on a journey of his own. He’s come to Stoney Ridge to convert to the Amish and has given himself thirty days to learn the language, drive a buggy, and adapt to “everything Plain.” Time is of the essence and every moment is to be cherished–especially the hours he spends with Ruthie, his Penn Dutch tutor.

Ruthie’s next-door neighbor and cunning ex-boyfriend, Luke Schrock, is drawn to trouble like a moth to a flame. Rebellious, headstrong, defiant, Luke will do anything to win Ruthie back–and Patrick Kelly is in his way.

Bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher invites you back to Stoney Ridge for a story of dreams deferred–and the promise of hopes fulfilled.

My thoughts:

This book open with a scene that will draw you in. And I was. I was very excited to read more and see what would happen with these characters.

Suzanne does a great job of bringing this environment to life and introducing many characters. If you have read this series I supposed you won’t be introduced to them, you will already know them. But I hadn’t read any of the books before. And there might be my problem.

I didn’t really know the characters and there were so many that I felt what was promised on the back didn’t show itself soon enough. I began to wonder if Patrick was really a main character or not, or if he was just a secondary character. Even by page seventy I was wondering these things. His role in the book didn’t seem too important.

So much more focused seemed to be on the other characters and I felt a bit let down because I didn’t feel the back cover promised me what I had hoped.

This isn’t a bad book at all, as I said I was drawn in immediately, but I did find it very easy to put down and walk away. I think, for me, there was just too much going on that some things got lost along the way.

Visit Suzanne here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer.

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher. All opinions are my own. 

 

Leave a Reply

