Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Obedience=Faith October 28, 2016

Filed under: Melissa's Genesis 5020 — Melissa Finnegan @ 7:05 pm
Tags: ,
 By Ben White

By Ben White

I know my Friday posts have not really existed for quite awhile and I can’t even promise you now that I can be consistent. Friday sneaks up on me and I don’t want to write something just to say I did. I want my post to have meaning and depth for you.

So, I will share with you what I feel God has been trying to get me to see over the last couple of months.

I have learned: Be obedient even in the spiritually dry times. 

That’s where I have been for about two months now. I am struggling to get up early in the morning to be with Jesus. I have even skipped a couple of mornings because I chose sleep. I feel this way because I don’t feel like anything is moving in me. I feel like I am going through the motions of what I’m “supposed” to do and I hate it.

Now, there have been a few times when I felt God stirring in me but for the most part I’m going through the motions.

But what God is showing me through my continued obedience is that my faith is stronger then my flesh. I keep waking up and getting in the word  and trying to pray because I have faith that God will move in me. That something is going on that I’m not seeing. A greater purpose is growing in me.

I  have no idea what that is. But I believe it is something.

Why do I share this?

I have to believe I’m not the only one who feels spiritually dry. Maybe you feel like you are going through the motions of your faith. I’m here to tell you to keep being obedient. If Jesus has called you to do something keep doing it even if it doesn’t feel like He is meeting you.

He is. He is meeting you there. And He will keep meeting you there.

A shift is coming. I sense it. A shift is coming for me and it is coming for you too.

This is a time to show your faith. Remain faithful, don’t give up. Keep pressing in and eventually His spirit will overwhelm you.

I’m believing it for me and I’m believing it for you.

Stay obedient.

 

 

5 Responses to “Obedience=Faith”

  1. Judy Says:

    It’s been a rough year. Still hanging in there.

  2. Brenda Murphree Says:

    A change is coming because we are so close to the Endtime. I’m not saying I know everything because I don’t. But you know the Apostle Paul spoke these words in Acts 19:2, “Have you received the Holy Ghost since you believed?” This tells us that we can believe and still not have received the Holy Ghost.
    God could be calling us all to a closer walk with Him. I have received the Gift of the Holy Ghost, the evidence was speaking in tongues in a language I didn’t learn. Acts 2:38. When I pray and get earnest with God I still speak in tongues. Just a little food for thought. Forgive me if I spoke out and wasn’t supposed to, but I read your article and I felt a stirring to share my experience with God. Thank you for sharing yours.

    • Thanks for sharing Brenda. I agree with everything you said. I, too, have received the gift of tongues. Unfortunately, I don’t use the gift very often and this could be part of my problem. I’m not going there with the Holy Spirit nearly enough. I know when I do I feel a freshness and peace over me. Thanks for this reminder and of the power of the Holy Spirit. Have a blessed weekend.

  3. Melissa Says:

    Sometimes we can go through the motions of prayer, worship, etc., but without obedience it is vain.


Leave a Reply

