Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill by Julie Klassen January 6, 2017

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:27 pm
Tags: , ,

the-innkeeper

About:

Welcome to the English village of Ivy Hill, where friendships thrive, romance blossoms, and mysteries await. . . .

The lifeblood of the village of Ivy Hill is its coaching inn, The Bell. When the innkeeper dies suddenly, his genteel wife, Jane Bell, becomes the reluctant landlady. Jane has no idea how to manage a business, but with the town’s livelihood at stake and a large loan due, she must quickly find a way to save the inn.

Despite their strained relationship, Jane turns to her resentful mother-in-law, Thora, for help. Formerly mistress of The Bell, Thora is struggling to overcome her losses and find purpose for the future. As she works with Jane, two men from her past vie for her attention, but Thora has promised herself never to marry again. Will one of them convince her to embrace a second chance at love?

As pressure mounts from the bank, Jane employs new methods, and puzzles over the intentions of several men who seem to have a vested interest in the place, including a mysterious newcomer with secret plans of his own. With the help of friends old and new, can Jane restore life to the inn, and to her empty heart as well?

My thoughts and giveaway:

What an engaging book and I’m so excited for this series and the chance to spend more time in Ivy Hill and with these characters. I can’t wait to see what Julie will cook up next.

It seems like each chapter just added another layer of tension and unease to the book. I kept wondering who Jane would fall in love with and who she could really trust.

Even though Jane didn’t like her mother-in-law I could see the good in her. Of course that came because she was a point-of-view character and we knew she didn’t want anything bad to happen.

However, someone does, but how exactly? That is the questions. And what did Jane’s husband do with all that money he borrowed. So many questions.

A wonderful read that I am sure fans of historical fiction readers will eat up.

Visit Julie here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by Jan. 20th for your chance to win a copy. One winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. addresses only. I will not replace books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher. All opinions are my own.Β 

 

28 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill by Julie Klassen”

  1. Melanie Backus Says:

    Julie is such a wonderful writer and with a lovely cover and title, I would love to read her book. Thank you for the opportunity.

  2. Pam K. Says:

    I have read and enjoyed several of Julie’s books. The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill looks like a great beginning to a series I want to read. Thanks for your review and the chance to win the book.

  3. Vera Wilson Says:

    Sounds like a book would enjoy reading. Thanks for the chance.

  4. Lisa Brown Says:

    One of my favorite authors, love her work, thanks for the chance and I hope to get a chance to read it πŸ™‚
    jslbrown2009 at aol dot com

  5. MH Says:

    Can’t wait to read this book. She’s one of my favorite historical fiction authors.

  6. This sounds like a wonderful read! I’ve read most of Julie’s books. She is such an awesome writer. Thanks for the interview. πŸ˜€
    Blessings Joy
    ibjoy1953(at)yahoo(dot)com

  7. Karen Says:

    I’ve only read one of Julie’s books but enjoyed it very much and would love to read more!!

  8. kim hansen Says:

    Sounds like a good read.

  9. Diane Estrella Says:

    Julie is a favorite author of mine. This looks like another winner.
    estrella8888 at roadrunner dot com

  10. Julie W. Says:

    I love Julie’s novels! This one sounds like it will be just as good!

  11. elizabeth Says:

    I love Julies books. thanks for the chance to win.

  12. Loraine N. Says:

    I love that Julie is doing a regency series. It reminds me of the Gresham Chronicle series written by Lawana Blackwell. Thanks for the review and giveaway!

  13. Charis Zdrojewski Says:

    I lover her books!

  14. Patty Says:

    I’ve read several of Julie’s earlier books. This sounds like a great new series.

  15. DK Stevens Says:

    I do enjoy Julie’s books!

  16. Diana Guz Says:

    I’ve read many of Julie’s books and they are great!! Thanks for the chance to win this one, and God bless!

  17. Arletta Says:

    this book sounds so good. It’s on my tbr pile.

  18. Susan Cornwell Says:

    I can’t wait to read this book. The only bad thing will be waiting for the next book in series to come out. Thanks for the opportunity to win a copy.Su

  19. Jennifer Says:

    I haven’t had a chance to read this one yet, would love to win.

  20. carylkane Says:

    I LOVE Julie’s books! I’m excited about this new series! πŸ™‚

  21. Charlotte Says:

    Love Julie’s books. Thanks for the giveaway.

  22. Cathy Says:

    What a beautiful cover! This sounds to be an interesting new series. Thanks!

  23. Martha Sturm Says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading all of Julie’s books, and had the pleasure of meeting her (twice)! It will be interesting to see how well this, her first series, plays out. The covers of her books are always lovely.


Leave a Reply

